10, 000 riders partake in Larga Pilipinas event in EDSA and C5

By ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 28, 2018 02:26 PM

Photo courtesy of Larga Pilipinas

In a show of force by Filipino riders, close to ten thousand riders competed and participated in the Go for Gold Larga Pilipinas EDSA-C-5 Blitz Races.

Close to 3,000 competitors fought for the titles of the eleven categories, while another 6,000 joined the succeeding Fun Ride.

What made the event appealing to cycling fans is the historical importance.

This is the first time that a major race took place in the country’s two busiest highways, of course it happened on a Sunday.

“This is not your ordinary race. This is classic. One for the book and one event that might not happen again,” said Larga Pilipinas technical consultant Atty Froi Dayco of Larga Pilipinas’ 24.8 kilometer route that connected EDSA and C-5 via White Plains Drive in Quezon City and JP Rizal Street in Makati.

Young rider Aidan James Mendoza took advantage of his fresh legs to dominate the Professional/Elite category, taking a lead role in the early breakaway with multi-champion John Mark Galedo and Jerry Aqunio, Jr.

It only took Mendoza 23:18 secs to finish the course which became very nerve-wracking for some livestream viewers who witnessed the race that was set in an unusual concrete jungle setting.

“Yan po kasing ganyan kaikli na karera, talagang buhos na agad yan. Di ka na dapat magpahinga riyan kasi kaunting pagkakamali mo sa ganyan kaikli na race, maiiwan ka,” said Mendoza.

“Saka nung nakita ko na beterano at mga laspag sa iba’t ibang karera yung kalaban ko, siniguro ko nang hindi ako mawawala sa harap,” said the rider who lead the bunch finish as another youthful rider Jeck River finished second and veteran campaigner George Oconer third.

Meanwhile, for the other categories.

Call Center guru Fred Chua ruled the Corporate Executives, followed by Randall Hortaleza and Lance Asprec as comebacking former Tour Champion Albert Primero re-kindled deadly form to take the Masters plum.

Second generation rider Manuel Reynante topped the Managers trailed by Alfie Tangzo and Alonzo Castro while Athena Marana showed brilliance in the Women’s race besting Marianne Dacumos and Kate Yasmin Velasco.

Jarwyn Banatao completed a back-to-back championship by once again taking the Triathletes/Duathletes title over John Vyrom Lucero and Miguel Mapalo.

Other winners include Lorenzo Rellosa (Amateurs), John Carlo Garol (Under-21) and John Carl Reynante (Fixed Gear).

The race was a fitting sequel to the equally well-attended Larga Pilipinas First Salvo in Marikina last month.

© 2020 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.