NCAA

Coach Boyet: ‘Dapat bawiin din nila yung nangyari kay Robert’

By Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 15, 2017 09:11 PM

SAME-SAME. Coach Boyet Fernandez had something to say about the league's overturning of the foul initially called as disqualifying for Michael Calisaan.

Michael Calisaan was called for a disqualifying foul in San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ matchup with San Beda College on Friday.

At the 3:33 mark of the first quarter, Calisaan and Javee Mocon were battling for a rebound when the former’s right forearm appeared to hit the latter’s face.

Referees initially called a disqualifying foul for Calisaan, but after replay reviews, they determined that the incident only warranted an unsportsmanlike foul.

And so, instead of getting ejected, Calisaan returned to the floor and even finished the game with 23 points.

Post-game, Red Lions mentor Boyet Fernandez had something to say about what happened. “Ang aking complaint lang kanina is nag-decide na silang thrown out tapos nakita nila sa review, binawi nila. Okay, I appreciate that, pero dapat bawiin din nila yung nangyari kay Robert,” he said.

The head coach was referring to the disqualifying foul referees slapped on Robert Bolick in their matchup with College of St. Benilde a week ago.

Late in that matchup, the defending champions were up, 71-57, and were about to increase their advantage even more when Blazer Carlo Young prevented Bolick from finishing a fastbreak. The former took the latter by the shoulder and held him down all the way to the floor.

The two players then got entangled and Bolick appeared to be forcing to break free until referees and players from both sides finally separated them.

 

 

Game officials slapped Young with a disqualifying foul for his apparent takedown as well as Bolick for his apparent swinging of the arm.

San Beda appealed the foul, but was ultimately denied by the league.

For Fernandez, however, Bolick’s action on Young was just like Calisaan’s action on Mocon. “It was the same thing with Robert. Sabi nila, thrown out siya because it was above the shoulder,” he shared.

He then continued, “What happened with Calisaan today was above the shoulder as well.”

In the end, however, the Red Lions’ mentor said he could only respect the decision of the league and its game officials. “Sa akin lang, let’s be fair. Kung above the shoulder, thrown out, (edi) thrown out,” he said.

He then continued, “But again, it’s the decision of the commissioner and the referees. Wala naman akong magagawa but to respect that.”

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

© 2019 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.