PBA

PBA: Jones downplays latest F1 call, says he’s focused on winning

By Paul Lintag on Jun 13, 2019 01:26 PM

Jones was hit with a flagrant foul penalty 1 in the third quarter when he clipped Tenorio by the shoulder, causing the guard to fall down the floor.

Terrence Jones got involved in another incident Wednesday in the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup, this time against defending champion Ginebra.

It wasn’t as shocking and severe compared to the one with Calvin Abueva but Jones’ incident with Ginebra’s LA Tenorio got him penalized regardless.

Jones was hit with a flagrant foul penalty 1 in the third quarter when he clipped Tenorio by the shoulder, causing the guard to fall down the floor.

This happened after Jones complained about getting hit in the gut by LA, for which there was no call by the referees.

Tenorio admitted to hitting Jones but he argues that it was only after the TNT import hit hin as well during an earlier play.

[Related: PBA: LA admits to hitting back at Jones: “Tinapik ko lang naman eh”]

Anyway, it was Jones that was called for the flagrant foul and he had to sit for three basketball minutes because of it.

“I just wanted to be aggressive. I felt, you know, he kinda punched me in the stomach beforehand and they didn’t call it,” Jonesa said.

“So I just wanted to let my guys know that you know, they’re not gonna try to do anything dirty,” he added.

To his credit, Jones has been relatively chill even for all of the incidents that he has been involved with for his first PBA stint so far.

Jones has been winning a lot with the KaTropa and he’s putting up monster numbers. TNT is up to 5-1 following the against the Gin Kings with Terrence putting up 17 points, 14 rebounds, and 16 assists.

That certainly helps.

“We just continue on winning,” he said.

“I mean, we kept playing and we didn’t bother none of us and we were just worried about getting the win,” Jones added.

 


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

© 2019 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.