PBA: Hotshots get back-to-back wins at the expense of Dyip

By Paul Lintag on Jun 16, 2019 06:43 PM

The victory allowed the Hotshots to get back to .500 with an even 2-2 record.

It’s Magnolia that gets its first winning streak of the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup.

The Hotshots used a strong second-half run to hold off Columbian Sunday at the Big Dome, picking up a 110-103 win over the Dyip in the mid-season joust.

Magnolia put together 18 straight points in the third quarter to get ahead and never looked back. Even as Columbian tried to fight back in the fourth, the Hotshots were steady and cruised for the win.

The victory allowed the Hotshots to get back to .500 with an even 2-2 record.

“Happy kasi kahit paano two out of three kami sa mahirap na part ng schedule namin,” said head coach Chito Victolero.

“Unti-unti sana makuha namin ang momentun for our next games. We will face the big teams for the next games namin,” he added.

Tied at 52 at the break, Magnolia still had trouble creating separation from the pesky Dyip.

Then the Hotshots’ signature defense kicked in and with Paul Lee providing the spark, the Hotshots’ 18-0 run to go up 76-62 was enough to take control all the way to the final buzzer.

Import James Farr and Ian Sangalang each had 22 points for Magnolia while Lee added 21, 11 in that third period.

Jio Jalalon scored anotehr 17 points on top of 12 rebounds and seven assists for the Hotshots in the win.

Columbian got a 26-point, 14-rebound effort from debuting import Lester Prosper but it was not quite enough to save the team from falling further down the standings with a 1-4 mark.

No. 1 pick CJ Perez was the Dyip’s top local scorer with 18 points.


The scores: 

Magnolia 110 - Farr 22, Sangalang 22, Lee 21, Jalalon 17, Barroca 9, Brondial 8, Melton 3, Herndon 2, Dela Rosa 2, Ramos 2, Pascual 0.

Columbian 103 - Prosper 26, Perez 18, McCarthy 11, Corpuz 10, Calvo 6, Escoto 4, Celda 4, Cahilig 3, Camson 3, Reyes 2, King 2, Faundo 0. 

Quarterscores: 34-28, 52-52, 85-74, 110-103


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

© 2019 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.