PBA: Magnolia wins 4th straight win 36-point beating of SMB

By Paul Kennedy Lintag on Jun 26, 2019 09:32 PM

Magnolia led by as many as 38 and won by 36, taking a fourth straight dub for a 4-2 record.

Magnolia will not win not get any championships immediately after this win over San Miguel Beer but this victory certainly had to feel good.

The Hotshots thoroughly dominated the Beermen Wednesday in the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup, taking a convincing 118-82 win at the Big Dome.

Meeting for the first time since Game 7 of the Philippine Cup Finals, a one-point win for San Miguel, Magnolia was all business, building a good lead at the break.

Come the third quarter however, the floodgates opened and the Hotshots just had their way against San Miguel, dominating the Beermen in any way they can. Magnolia led by as many as 38 and won by 36, taking a fourth straight dub for a 4-2 record.

"Our execution on both ends, medyo maganda. Maganda tinakbo ng team namin," said head coach Chito Victolero.

"Sana tuluy-tuloy," he added.

Five players scored in double figures for the Hotshots for a balanced attack. Import James Farr led the team with 19 points, 18 rebounds, and three steals.

Mark Barroca dropped 17 points and nine assists while Jio Jalalon was everywhere, going for 16 points, seven rebounds, and 10 assists.

Charles Rhodes (20 points, 15 rebounds) and Christian Standhardinger (16 points, 11 rebounds) both had double-doubles for San Miguel but the Beermen fell flat again, losing by more than 30 points for a second time this conference.

SMB dropped to 2-4 for 10th place with the loss.


The scores: 

Magnolia 118 - Farr 19, Barroca 17, Jalalon 16, Lee 14, Sangalang 10, Dela Rosa 8, Ramos 7, Pingris 6, Brondial 6, Melton 5, Gamalinda 4, Herndon 4, Abundo 2, Pascual 0. 

San Miguel 82 - Rhodes 20, Standhardinger 16, Lassiter 11, Cabagnot 6, Pessumal 6, Tubid 5, Fajardo 5, Nabong 4, Lanete 3, Ross 3, Vigil 2, Santos 1, Rosser 0, Zamar 0.

Quarterscores: 24-17, 52-38, 85-56, 118-82



Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

© 2020 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.