UE and Ateneo clinch Finals berths in UAAP 80 tennis

By ABS-CBN Sports on Mar 04, 2018 02:57 AM

The Red Warriors stretched their perfect run to six in UAAP men's tennis.

Defending men's champion University of the East downed De La Salle University, 4-1, while Ateneo topped University of the Philippines, 4-1, to arrange an interesting duel for the crown Saturday in the UAAP Season 80 lawn tennis tournament at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

The Red Warriors stretched their perfect run to six, while the Blue Eagles chalked up their fifth victory in seven ties.

Reigning MVP AJ Lim, Josshua Kinaadman, Dolfo Barquin produced singles wins, while doubles specialists Rogelio Estaño and RJ Saga provided the other win for the back-to-back title-seeking Warriors.

Doubles players Luke Flores and Erj Gatdula, and AJ Rivero and Julian Dayrit shone, while singles standouts Ino Canlas and Marcen Gonzales also delivered for the Eagles.

While UE booked its second straight Finals appearance, Ateneo reached the title round for the first time since 2001.     

The Warriors need to win their last two ties, including the March 11 championship preview with the Eagles, to claim the twice-to-beat advantage in the Finals.

An Ateneo win over UE will make the championship tie a best-of-three affair.


© 2019 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.