UAAP Volleyball Finals By the Numbers: Lady Eagles fly high once again

By Paul Lintag on May 18, 2019 07:34 PM

In the deciding Game 3, the Lady Eagles needed only three sets to bury the Golden Tigresses of UST.

The Lady Eagles are back on top of the food chain.

Following a sensational Game 3 win Saturday at the MOA Arena, Ateneo is the UAAP Season 81 women’s volleyball champion.

The Lady Eagles dropped the UST Golden Tigresses in a sweep and we got all the numbers for you to mark the occassion.

That’s right, it’s By the Numbers UAAP Finals edition time.


Total UAAP championships now for Ateneo de Manila.

The Lady Eagles take their first UAAP title since Season 77 and it’s the first one without school legend Alyssa Valdez.


Number of games it took for this Ateneo team to win its third UAAP title.

In the deciding Game 3, the Lady Eagles needed only three sets to bury the Golden Tigresses of UST. All of that after Ateneo dropped the series opener in three sets as well.


Sure graduating seniors for Ateneo de Manila.

Middle blockers Bea De Leon and Maddie Madayag plus libero Kim Gequillana have suited up for the last time for the Lady Eagles. Wing spiker Kat Tolentino is eligible to return for next year but she’s still thinking about it.


Total errors for UST in Game 3.

That’s more than a set worth of points that the Golden Tigresses just gave away. This loss could sting for a while for UST.


Total points for Season 81 Most Valuable Player Sisi Rondina.

With their backs against the wall, Rondina kept pushing, putting the Golden Tigresses on her back. It wasn’t enough in the end but Sisi is the undisputed People’s Champion of Season 81.


Total digs for Dani Ravena, a game-high.

The second-year libero was once again impressive for Ateneo in another Finals win. She was all over the floor and making key saves for the Lady Eagles.

Ateneo’s blocks can only do so much against UST’s high-powered offense. When the blocks fall however, Dani is there to recover.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

© 2019 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.