De Guzman, Espejo shine as Nat’l squad remains flawless

By ABS-CBN Sports on May 28, 2019 11:27 PM

National team captain John Vic De Guzman hammered 26 points to power Rebisco-Philippines to a five-set escape over Philippine Navy.

Team Standings      W     L

Rebisco-RP             3      0

PLDT                       3      0

Sta. Elena               2      0

Air Force                 2      0

Cignal                     2      0

Navy                       2      2

Animo                     1      1

Army                       1      1

Easytrip                  0      2

IEM                        0       3

Coast Guard          0       3


Game Thursday:

(Paco Arena)

1:00 pm Army vs. Coast Guard

3:00 pm Sta. Elena vs PLDT

5:00 pm Cignal vs Rebisco-RP


John Vic De Guzman and Marck Espejo flexed their muscle on offense as the duo powered Rebisco-Philippines five-set escape over Philippine Navy, 23-25, 26-24, 25-15, 21-25, 15-13, to remain unscathed in the 2019 Spikers’ Turf Reinforced Conference at the Paco Arena in Manila on Tuesday.

National team skipper De Guzman and Espejo torched the Sea Lions with 26 points each for Rebisco-PHI, which copped its third straight win in as many outings for a share of the top spot with idle PLDT.

The duo conspired in the deciding frame and accounted for 40 of the Nationals’ 58 attack points.

Rebisco-PHI shook off a slow start and took the next two frames only to see Philippine Navy recover in the fourth to force a decider.

“I think ang reason kung bakit umabot ng fifth set ‘yung game kasi slow start kami, ‘di namin agad na-organize ‘yung team, kung paano namin mae-execute ‘yung mga plays namin and ‘yung service receives namin,” said De Guzman, who had 19 spikes, four kill blocks and three aces while adding 10 digs.

Espejo also displayed his all-around game with 21 attacks, four aces and a kill block laced with 11 digs and 19 excellent receptions for the Nationals.

 Greg Dolor and JD Diwa had 16 points apiece for the Sea Lions, who fell to 2-2 win-loss record.

Meanwhile, defending champion Philippine Air Force outclassed Easytrip-Raimol, 25-17, 25-23, 25-19, for its second straight win in as many games.

Ranran Abdilla dropped 16 markers as the Jet Spikers bury Easytrip to 0-2 slate.

Milover Parcon scored nine points for Easytrip.

In the curtain-raiser, Philippine Army bounced back from a debut loss with a five-set escape over IEM Phoenix Volley Masters, 15-25, 26-24, 25-20, 27-25, 15-13.

PJ Rojas delivered 18 points and two blocks while team captain Benjaylo Labide added 17 markers for the Troopers, who exploited the Volley Masters’ sorry errors in the final stretch to salvage the win despite trailing 12-14 in the fifth.

Mark Enciso scored 20 points in a losing effort while Razzel Palisoc added 16 markers for IEM (0-3).

© 2020 ABS-CBN Corporation. All Rights Reserved.