Ateneo begins quest for fourth straight UAAP baseball crown with over Adamson

Anton Roxas on Feb 05, 2016 09:47 AM
Ateneo opens quest for fourth UAAP baseball crown with a win
Ateneo defeated Adamson, 7-3, on opening day of the UAAP Season 78 baseball tournament.
Ateneo de Manila University began its quest for a fourth straight championship on a high note as it defeated Adamson University, 7-3 on opening day of the UAAP Season 78 Baseball tournament on Thursday at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Field.

Paulo Macasaet's key hit sent Pelos Remollo and Ryon Tantuico home to put the Blue Eagles ahead, 4-2, in the fourth inning and never looked back.

The Blue Eagles swept De La Salle University in two games during the Finals last year.

Earlier, the University of Sto. Tomas edged the University of the Philippines, 5-4.

National University outdueled DLSU, 8-7 in a game that needed an extra inning to finish.

A huge single by Keneth Rex Ybañez sent home Floro Nalit Jr. to give the Bulldogs the lead at the middle of the 10th inning which turned out to be the winning moment in the match that lasted for more than four hours.

The UAAP Season 78 Baseball tournament resumes on Sunday, February 7, 2016 at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium with the following schedule:

7:00 A.M. – NU (1-0) vs. ADMU (1-0)
10:00 A.M. – AdU (0-1) vs. UST (1-0)
1:00 P.M. – DLSU (0-1) vs. UP (0-1)

Latest News