It's Air Force vs Thunder in PBL Open Finals

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 23, 2019 03:13 PM
It's Air Force vs Thunder in PBL Open Finals
Photo courtesy of PBL

Veteran squads Philippine Air Force Lawin and Thunderz All-Stars dispatched their respective collegiate foes to advance to the championship round of the 2019 PBL Open Conference, last Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

Air Force picked things up late to stun the Adamson University Soaring Falcons, 4-1, in the first semifinals bracket.

Down 0-1 heading into the sixth inning, Ferdinand Liguayan, took advantage of a fielding error by Adamson first baseman Aaron Mercado for the tying run. Andro Guyugan then followed this up with a base hit to bring home Jon-Jon Robles for the go-ahead run.

NU standout Junmar Diarao provided the insurance runs in the seventh inning, connecting on a grounder to second base that led to runs for Chris Galedo and Liguayan.

"Mas mabibilis sila. Bumawi na lang kami sa last inning. Dinala na lang kami ng momentum namin nung seventh inning," said Liguayan, who had two runs in the contest.  

Thunderz, on the other hand, blasted the National University Bulldogs early to take a 5-2 win in the other bracket of this tournament sanctioned by the Philippine Amateur Baseball Association and backed by the Philippine Sports Commission.

Vladi Eguia did it on both ends for the All-Stars, going 2-of-3 at-bat for two RBIs. On the other end, the leading best pitcher candidate had four strikeouts in four runless innings.

Meanwhile, Adamson takes on NU in the bronze medal match.

Latest News