Ross makes it clear, he was calling for a timeout

Paul Lintag on Jan 14, 2017 06:33 PM
Ross makes it clear, he was calling for a timeout
Ross was asking for a timeout after all, he just didn't get it.

Turns out that Chris Ross knew they still had a couple of timeouts left late in regulation of San Miguel's game against Rain or Shine Friday.

He also had a perfect explanation why he didn't call for stoppage in the last 10 seconds and the Beermen down by two, opting to go for a pass that resulted in a turnover.

"I tried to call a timeout, we all tried to call a timeout," Ross explained.

"But they [referees] didn't give it to us so when I got it [ball], I thought we'll get an eight-second call so I just threw it," he added.

After the turnover, the Beermen were forced to foul but since the champs were still not in penalty, Rain or Shine whould have to inbound the ball with a chance to milk the clock out and hold on for a win.

However, Ross had other plans in mind as the reigning Defensive Player of the Year more than made up for his mistake by swiping the ball off of Beau Belga, setting up Alex Cabagnot's game-tying jumper on the other end before stealing the victory in overtime.

"After that, I was lucky I had the chance to make up for it when I got the deflection for the steal and got a couple of assists to start the overtime," Ross said.

With the Beermen sitting pretty at number 1 with a seven-game winning streak, the champs are obviously feeling good but are still on the hunt for another win that would for sure clinch the top overall seed for the playoffs.

"We're playing really good ball. We need one more game to clinch first to be sure, that feels good but we got to put that on the side and go on to our next goal," Ross said.

 

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News