Teng inspires the future of Philippine basketball in NBTC

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Mar 13, 2017 02:21 PM
Teng inspires the future of Philippine basketball in NBTC
BRIGHT. The best of the best are yet again all in the NBTC League National Finals.

The 2017 National Basketball Training Center League National Finals is underway.

With 24 teams, 96 coaches, and 360 players competing, the NBTC will crown one champion each in Division 1 and Division 2 in the tournament that will run from Monday to Thursday at the MOA Arena.

For almost a decade, the program spearheaded by coaches Eric Altamirano and Alex Compton have gathered the best of the best and have given them the brightest stage to showcase their skills.

Not much has changed this year as Compton called upon the youngsters to aspire to keep getting better. “In this very floor, Gilas Pilipinas booked a seat into the FIBA World Championships. And you, all of you, are the future of Gilas Pilipinas and Philippine basketball,” he said.

Two-time UAAP champion and PBA D-League star Jeron Teng also challenged the current crop of prospects to look to the future. “Lagi nga nilang sinasabi diba, hardwork beats talent,” he reminded them.

He also added, “Kaya sana makalaban ko kayo in the future.”

In Division 1, four foreign teams will put to the test national powerhouses Far Eastern University-Diliman, Malayan High School of Science, Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, and San Beda High School.

Trying to win it for their respective countries are AusPinoy from Australia, Camp David from New Zealand, Durham Crossover from Canada, and Filam Sports from USA.

Then in Division 2, De La Salle Lipa will defend its title against 15 other schools.

Coming from North Luzon are STI Malolos (Bulacan), Isabela Colleges (Cauayan), La Finn’s Scholastica (La Union), and St. Joseph’s College (Olongapo). South Luzon is then represented by DLS-Lipa, St. Jude College (Cavite), St. Benilde International School (Laguna), and Jesus the Loving Shepherd (Naga).

Visiting from Visayas are University of St. La Salle (Bacolod), St. Robert’s International Academy (Iloilo), St. Louis College (Mandaue), and New Ormoc City National High School (Ormoc). All the way from Mindanao are Assumption Montessori School (Cagayan de Oro), Ateneo de Davao High School (Davao), Langatian National High School (Dipolog), and Notre Dame of Kidapawan College (Kidapawan).

The NBTC All-Star Game will be broadcast on March 17 on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23. It will also be streamed LIVE, together with the League Finals, on March 16.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News