Hype best Punks in SLAM Rising Stars behind GDL and Gonzales

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Mar 26, 2017 08:49 PM
Hype best Punks in SLAM Rising Stars behind GDL and Gonzales
DIFFERENCE. Juan Gomez de Liano and L-Jay Gonzales connived to carry Team Hype past Team Punks.

Far Eastern University-Diliman’s difference-maker was once again making his presence felt, this time in the 2017 SLAM Rising Stars.

Only this time, right there making a difference with him was UAAP Season MVP Juan Gomez de Liano.

Gonzales fueled the pivotal push which Gomez de Liano then finished for an 89-83 decision in favor of Team Hype against Team Punks on Sunday at the Gatorade Hoops Center in Mandaluyong.

The best of the best were duking it out and Team Punks were actually ahead by two inside the last nine minutes before the UAAP’s Finals MVP imposed his will.

In all, Gonzales scored all but two of his 11 points in that five-minute span. He also wound up with eight rebounds and three assists, leaving his imprint in all of the final frame.

Still, Team Punks kept coming and closed in to within two points only to see Gomez de Liano take over with back-to-back hits to put them away for good.

The pride of the University of the Philippines was hailed as the SLAM Rising Stars MVP by finishing his, most probably, final game in high school with 16 points to go along with seven rebounds.

Will Gozum added 13 points and eight rebounds for Team Hype who bounced back from a loss to Team Punks a year ago.

For Team Punks, it was Aaron Fermin who topped the scoring column with 14 points. Three other of his teammates were also in double-digits.

They had no answer for Gonzales and Gomez de Liano in the endgame, however.


HYPE 89 – Gomez de Liano 16, Gozum 13, Amsali 11, Gonzales 11, Junsay 6, Coyoca 6, Mahinay 6, Naboa 6, Minerva 3, Abadeza 3, Romero 2, Tagala 0

PUNKS 83 – Fermin 14, Clemente 13, Dela Torre 12, Penano 10, Mallillin 9, Ildefonso 7, Salenga 7, Oczon 5, Pagsanjan 4, Abu Hijleh 2, Roman 0

QUARTER SCORES: 18-12, 43-37, 62-60, 89-83


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News