Spotlight is on top young talent in 2017 SLAM Rising Stars

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Mar 26, 2017 10:35 AM
Spotlight is on top young talent in 2017 SLAM Rising Stars

Team Hype battles Team Punks once again in the fourth-ever SLAM Rising Stars.

More importantly, however, the best of the best high school standouts come together once again in the 2017 edition of the annual showcase set for Sunday at the Gatorade Hoops Center in Mandaluyong.

UAAP MVP Juan Gomez de Liano steers Team Hype against the NCAA MVP Troy Mallillin-fueled Team Punks with tip-off at 6:00 PM. All of the action will be broadcast LIVE on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23 as well as streamed LIVE.

University of the Philippines-bound Gomez de Liano will be backstopped by NCAA champions Rom Junsay and Will Gozum of Malayan High School of Science and UAAP Finals MVP L-Jay Gonzales of Far Eastern University-Diliman.

Completing the team to be coached by Alaska’s Tony De La Cruz as well as Ateneo de Manila High School’s Joe Silva are Robert Minerva and Jonas Tibayan of Chiang Kai Shek High School; Carlo Abadeza of Arellano High School; Martin Romero of De La Salle Zobel; Rhayyan Amsali and Winderlich Coyoca of Nazareth School of National University; and Germy Mahinay and Josh Tagala of San Beda High School.

At the opposite side, Mallillin, who is headed for DLSU, will be flanked by UAAP champion Kenji Roman and NCAA champion Jasper Salenga. They will be mentored by former pro Willie Miller along with DLSZ assistant coach Gian Nazario.

Rounding out their squad are Arellano’s Guilmer Dela Torre and Aaron Fermin; Ateneo’s Dave Ildefonso, CKSC’s Miguel Oczon; NU’s John Lloyd Clemente and Karl Penano; San Beda’s Sam Abu Hijleh; together with College of St. Benilde-La Salle Greenhills’ Unique Naboa and Hope Christian School’s Harvey Pagsanjan.


Follow this write on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News