Filoil Preseason to feature all teams in NCAA and UAAP

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Apr 06, 2017 04:50 PM
Filoil Preseason to feature all teams in NCAA and UAAP
HEAD-TO-HEAD. Each and every squad in the NCAA and the UAAP will be participating in the 2017 Filoil Flyin V Preseason Tournament.

For the first time in three years, both the NCAA and the UAAP will have complete attendance in the Filoil Flying V Preseason Tournament.

NCAA champion San Beda College and runner-up Arellano University as well as UAAP titlist De La Salle University and second-placer Ateneo de Manila University headline the 2017 iteration of the competition among collegiate teams.

Also participating will be NCAA squads Colegio de San Juan de Letran, College of St. Benilde, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Jose Rizal University, Lyceum of the Philippines University, Mapua Institute of Technology, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, and University of Perpetual Help.

UAAP teams Adamson University, Far Eastern University, National University, University of the East, University of the Philippines, and University of Sto. Tomas will be there as well in the tournament running from late April to mid-June.

The last time all 18 member-schools in the NCAA and UAAP duked it out in the Filoil Flying V Preseason was back in 2014. Then, DLSU edged out San Beda for the championship.

The Green Archers again enter the upcoming competition as defending champions. They have been grouped in the elimination round together with the Blue Eagles, the Heavy Bombers, the Knights, the Pirates, the Red Lions, the Altas, the Red Warriors, and the Growling Tigers.

Making up the other grouping are the Soaring Falcons, the Chiefs, the Blazers, the Generals, the Tamaraws, the Cardinals, the Bulldogs, the Golden Stags, and the Fighting Maroons.

The top four teams from each group after the elimination round will advance into the quarterfinals. From there, all games will be knockout games until only one team remains.

All matchups will be played in the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Opening Day is scheduled on April 29 with DLSU facing off against UE and San Beda battling Ateneo.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News