Greene powers TNT past San Miguel

Paul Lintag on May 05, 2017 09:10 PM
Greene powers TNT past San Miguel
Donte Greene submitted a 40-20 double-double as TNT stops San Miguel's perfect run in the Commissioner's Cup.

With both teams missing their top stars, the imports went to work for the KaTropa and the Beermen.

Fortunately for TNT, its reinforcement was just a little bit better this time around.

Behind Donte Greene's 41 points, the KaTropa scored an emphatic 112-103 victory over the Beermen Friday night at the Big Dome, ending San Miguel's undefeated run in the 2017 PBA Commissioner's Cup.

On top of his team-high 41 points on 55 percent shooting and built around seven triples, Greene also added 21 rebounds, four assists, and two blocks as he outdueled San Miguel counterpart Charles Rhodes.

Despite missing three starters to the national team, TNT got off to a fast start and even led by as many as 14 points in both halves.

However, behind their stingy defense, the Beermen would make one final rally and cut the deficit to two points, 98-100, with 1:36 to go. Unfortunatelt for San Miguel, Larry Fonacier stepped up to plate for the KaTropa and the former PBA Finals MVP drilled to treys in the last 90 second to preserve the TNT victory, the team's sixth in eight outings.

"I think we are fortunate today na wala si June Mar," head coach Nash Racela said referring to June Mar Fajardo as the Beermen also lost their three-time MVP to Gilas Pilipinas.

"While we lost three players to the Gilas program, guys were able to step up and contribute. Of course, the contribution of Donte Greene was phenomenal," he added.

Aside from Greene, four TNT locals also scored in double figures led by 15 points from Kelly Williams and 14 from Fonacier. RR Garcia, acquired from San Miguel in a straight trade for Matt Ganuelas-Rosser, added 12 in his debut for the KaTropa.

Without Fajardo in the middle, Rhodes exploded for his best game of the season, dropping 43 points albeit on a losing effort for the now 5-1 Beermen. Marcio Lassiter and Chris Ross scored 17 apiece for the reigning three-time All-Filipino champions.


The Scores:

TNT (112) - Greene 41, Williams 15, Fonacier 14, Garcia 12, Tautuaa 11, Carey 6, Reyes 5, De Ocampo 4, Rosales 4.

San Miguel (103) - Rhodes 43, Lassiter 17, Ross 17, Santos 11, Cabagnot 7, Espinas 6, De Ocampo 2, Tubid 0, Heruela 0.

Quarterscores: 27-16, 53-42, 79-70, 112-103.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News