History-making nine teams to wage war in 2017-2018 ABL

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 17, 2017 02:04 PM
History-making nine teams to wage war in 2017-2018 ABL
RECORD. China's Nanhai Long Lions, Hong Kong's Eastern Sports Club, Indonesia's CLS Knights, Malaysia's Westports Dragons, and the Philippines' Alab Pilipinas are just five of the history-making nine teams competing in the oncoming ABL.

The Asean Basketball League is doing nothing but continuing to move forward.

As a follow up to what was already a historic 2016-2017 season, Southeast Asia’s first and only regional professional league is welcoming four newcomers and welcoming back one former participant.

Thailand’s Mono Vampire will be returning just as China’s Nanhai Long Lions, Indonesia’s CLS Knights, and Taiwan’s Formosa Dreamers will be making their debut.

Those four will be pitted against the ABL’s five holdovers in founding members Saigon Heat, Singapore Slingers, and Westports Malaysia Dragons along with sophomore squads Alab Pilipinas and Hong Kong Eastern Sports Club.

The total of nine teams is the most in the league’s eight years of existence.

A year ago, the ABL opened its doors to those outside the region for the first time.

And in a season marked with competitiveness among teams and eagerness among fans, Hong Kong came away as king with Singapore, Alab, and Saigon rounding out the top four.

Now, they will be challenged by the Vampire who last competed in 2014 as well as the much-confident Long Lions, the newly-established Dreamers, and the battle-hardened Knights.

The league’s 2017-2017 season commences on November 17 with Nanhai hosting Singapore.

The ABL will then open in the Philippines on November 19 with Alab Pilipinas taking on defending champion Hong Kong at the MOA Arena.

Of course, this historic season will still be on S+A, S+A HD, and sports.abs-cbn.com/livestream/abl.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News