June Mar's place in history is sealed with 4th straight MVP award

Paul Lintag on Oct 20, 2017 06:14 PM
June Mar's place in history is sealed with 4th straight MVP
June Mar Fajardo joins Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio to win PBA MVP four times. However, the Kraken is the first player ever to win the award for four straight seasons.

He missed out on team immortality but June Mar Fajardo's individual greatness has been sealed.

The Kraken officially received his fourth PBA Most Valuable Player award Friday during the 2017 Leo Awards night at the Araneta Coliseum.

Fajardo is the third player, after Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio to win the PBA's highest individual honor four times. However, San Miguel's prized center is the first player to win MVP in four straight years.

Fajardo has played five full seasons in the league and he's been the MVP in four of them. He beat teammates Alex Cabagnot and Chris Ross for this year's MVP plum.

This season, June Mar anchored the Beermen's chase for a second Grand Slam in franchise history.

And although San Miguel would ultimately come up short in the Governor' Cup, the team did managed to capture the Perpetual Trophy in the Philippine Cup and win their first Commissioner's Cup in over a decade.

Aside from the new pair of rings, June Mar also added the Best Player of the Conference award from the Philippine Cup, putting him at 5 BPCs overall, tied for first all-time with fellow San Miguel legend Danny Ildefenso.

Fajardo is also in the Mythical first team this season as well as the All-Defensive team to go along with his MVP award.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News