7 NCAA teams, 1 UAAP squad competing in D-League

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Dec 12, 2017 05:48 PM
7 NCAA teams, 1 UAAP squad competing in D-League
All but two teams in the 2018 PBA D-League are school-based squads

Seventy percent of the NCAA will also be duking it out in the 2018 PBA D-League Draft.

Colegio de San Juan de Letran, College of St. Benilde, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Jose Rizal University, Lyceum of the Philippines University, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, and University of Perpetual Help of the NCAA are set to see action in the Aspirants Cup tipping off on January 18 at Pasig’s Ynares Sports Arena.

The Knights will be back in the tournament for the first time since 2015.

Joining the developmental league again is all for, well, the development of the Intramuros-based squad with grand plans of contention for the next NCAA season. “Kailangan naming magka-experience in preparation for next season. Ang focus namin is yung bonding namin,” head coach Jeff Napa said.

With the graduation of stalwart Rey Nambatac, Letran will be parading a rejiggered lineup led by Jerrick Balanza, JP Calvo, and Bong Quinto and bolstered by transferees Bonbon Batiller, Christian Fajarito, Larry Muyang, and Fran Yu.

The Wangs-backed squad will also have a big boost for the D-League in the form of rookies Christian Bunag of Mapua University, Hubert Cani of Far Eastern University, and Henric Caunan of University of Sto. Tomas.

The same goal goes for the Generals who have partnered with Batangas. “Para ito sa preparation namin sa NCAA,” mentor Ariel Sison said of his team bannered by Juju Bautista and Jerome Garcia.

Only Arellano University, San Beda College, and Mapua did not join from the NCAA.

The UAAP will also be represented by Adamson University while three other school-based squads in AMA, Centro Escolar University, and Gamboa Coffee-St. Clare.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News