Ross' late technical foul vs. Ginebra explained

Paul Lintag on Jan 28, 2018 10:00 PM
Ross' late technical foul vs. Ginebra explained
Chris Ross was called for a technical foul late against Ginebra after he took a free throw with 4.5 seconds to go that was supposed to be for Chico Lanete.

There was definite confusion to end the San Miguel-Ginebra game Sunday in the 2018 PBA Philippine Cup.

With the Gin Kings up, 98-95, Arwind Santos missed two triples that would have tied the game. However, after the second miss, Chico Lanete was able to draw a foul during the rebound play.

That's when the confusion set in because it was Chris Ross that ended up taking the first of the two free throws for San Miguel with 4.5 seconds left.

Ross was called for a technical foul, but the Beermen point guard argued that it was the refs that handed him the ball to shoot. Replay showed that that was indeed the case.

LA Tenorio ended up making the technical free throw for Ginebra and Lanete did take his free throws on the other end.

Lanete split and the Gin Kings regained possession after the ball bounced off of Ross' chest in the rebound play.

Japeth Aguilar split his final attempts from the line with 1.5 seconds to go to seal a 100-96 Ginebra win.

With such a bizarre end, the PBA tried to clear things up post-game with Deputy Director for Basketball Operations Eric Castro explaining why Ross was called for a crucial technical foul in the first place.

"[Referee] Noy Guevarra was trying to give the ball to Lanete. Then, Chris Ross, siya yung nag punta sa free throw. So we have a rule before, babasahin ko na para sigurado," Castro said.

"A player who deliberately takes the place of the designated free throw shooter, shall be given a delay of game warning. That was before. Then we changed it that rule last December dahil we had an experience before some of the players, pag mahina, poor free throw shooter, na teammate nila, ppwesto sila to take their place. So we countered that. 

A player who deliberately takes the place of the designated free throw shooter, shall be given a delay of game warning if the free throw has not been attempted. Any succeeding similar offense shall be result in an unsportsmanlike technical foul. If the free throw has been attempted by the wrong shooter the player shall be assessed an unsportsmanlike technical foul. 

That’s why Chris Ross was given a technical foul during that play," he added.

Ross argued that it was the referee that gave him the ball to shoot and video replayed clearly showed that the San Miguel point guard didn't necessarily try to attempt the free throws on his own.

Basically, Ross was wrong to take the free throw anyway but the game officials were at fault too, something that Santos didn't dispute.

"To be honest, meron din kami siguro fault nun dun sa referees namin. I won’t deny it. But again, the players know… alam nila kung sino shooter talaga," Castro explained.

Adding more confusion, Ross was never tossed from the court despite his blunder serving as his second technical foul of the game.

Asked if the referee will face sanctions, Castro said that the league officials will have to sit down and talk first.

"We'll talk about it," he said.

 

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News