UAAP Jrs. MVP Cansino finally barges back into top five of NBTC 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 20, 2018 02:30 PM
MVP Cansino finally barges back into top five of NBTC 24
UST star CJ Cansino reclaimed his place in the top five of the NBTC 24

With the high school basketball scene reaching its closing moments, there were only a few movements in Week 6 of the National Basketball Training Center Chooks-to-Go 24.

Well, except for one student-athlete who willed his school to two do-or-die games in the UAAP Season 80 Juniors Basketball tournament.

UAAP  Juniors Most Valuable Player CJ Cansino starred as University of Sto. Tomas bounced back from a horrible second round and steered the Tiger Cubs into the semifinals.

Against Adamson High School, the versatile swingman poured in eight of his 24 points in overtime to lift UST 73-72. Two days later, he followed it up with an 18-point, 16-rebound, and five-assist outing in an 81-80 win over now-dethroned champion Far Eastern University-Diliman..

With this string of performances, Cansino barged into the top five after falling to as low as nine in the NBTC Chooks-to-Go 24.

The NBTC Chooks-to-Go 24 is a weekly ranking of high school players taking part in the UAAP, CESAFI-NBTC, MMBL, and FCAAF tournaments as well as the recently concluded NCAA competition.

SJ Belangel and Kai Sotto remained as the top two high school prospects in the country while Joel Cagulangan of La Salle Greenhills and Mapua High School’s Will Gozum were still three and four, respectively.

Down south, Beirn Laurente of University of Visayas rose to 17th after his team bested Alex Visser and Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu in the Finals of NBTC Cebu. Laurente's teammate Joshua Yerro returned to the rankings as well.

Here is the complete rankings after Week 6:

1. SJ Belangel, ADMU (1)
2. Kai Sotto, ADMU (2)
3. Joel Cagulangan, LSGH (3)
4. Will Gozum, MU (4)
5. CJ Cansino, UST (7)
6. L-jay Gonzales, FEU (5)
7. Rhayann Amsali, NU (6)
8. Dave Ildefonso, ADMU (7)
9. Aaron Fermin, AU (9)
10. Clint Escamis, MU (10)
11. John Galinato, CKSC (11)
12. Inand Fornilos, LSGH (12)
13. Warren Bonifacio, MU (13)
14. RJ Abarrientos, FEU (14)
15. Evan Nelle, SBC (15)
16. Joem Sabandal, ADU (16)
17. Beirn Laurente, UV (20)
18. Alex Visser, SHS-Cebu (17)
19. Terrence Fortea, NU (18) 
20. Raven Cortez, DSLZ (19)
21. Mac Guadana, LPU (21)
22. Joshua Yerro, UV (n/a)
23. Harvey Pagsanjan, HCHS (23)
24. Miguel Oczon, NU (n/a)

The Juniors stars were ranked using the following criteria: league stats, impact in team, team record, leadership, defense, offense, and level of competition.

These rankings will be used to determine the 24 players who will take part in the annual SM-NBTC High School All-Star Game on March at the MOA Arena.

Latest News