It’s Sotto-Cagulangan vs Gozum-Cansino in SLAM Rising Stars

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Mar 03, 2018 07:41 PM
It’s Sotto-Cagulangan vs Gozum-Cansino in SLAM Rising Stars
CJ Cansino and Will Gozum will form a versatile forward tandem as they go up against Joel Cagulangan and Kai Sotto forming a potent inside-outside duo

The Season MVPs of the NCAA and the UAAP will get together to take on the joint forces of the Finals MVPs of both leagues in the 2018 SLAM Rising Stars.

NCAA Season MVP Will Gozum and UAAP Season MVP CJ Cansino will banner Team Hype up against Team Punks headlined by NCAA Finals MVP Joel Cagulangan and UAAP Finals Kai Sotto in the annual exhibition game scheduled for March 18 at the Gatorade Hoops Center in Mandaluyong.

Mapua University’s Will Gozum and University of Sto. Tomas’ CJ Cansino will be backstopped in Team Hype by Raven Cortez (De La Salle Zobel), Jason Credo (Ateneo de Manila High School), Inand Fornilos (La Salle Greenhills), Terrence Fortea (Nazareth School of National University), John Galinato (Chiang Kai Shek College),

L-Jay Gonzales (Far Eastern University-Diliman), Mac Guadana (Lyceum of the Philippines University), Joaqui Manuel (Ateneo), Harvey Pagsanjan (Hope Christian High School), and Neil Tolentino (Colegio de San Juan de Letran).

Not going to give an inch to them, however, is Team Punks where Cagulangan of LSGH and Sotto of Ateneo are flanked by RJ Abarrientos (FEU-Diliman), Rhayyan Amsali (NU), Warren Bonifacio (Mapua), Jason Celis (CKSC),

Vincent Cunanan (LPU), Clint Escamis (Mapua), Aaron Fermin (Arellano High School), Dave Ildefonso (Ateneo), Evan Nelle (San Beda High School), and Joem Sabandal (Adamson High School).

On paper, both teams seem to be matched up well with the Season MVPs Gozum and Cansino forming a versatile forward tandem for Team Hype and Finals MVPs Cagulangan and Sotto forming a potent inside-outside duo for Team Punks.

The best young talents in the country will be going at it LIVE on S+A, S+A HD, and livestream.

A year ago, Team Punks bested Team Hype, 89-83. Now UAAP Rookie of the Year Juan Gomez de Liano was hailed as MVP.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News