ABL: Alab Pilipinas lights it up for country’s first title since 2013

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on May 02, 2018 10:18 PM
ABL: Alab lights it up for country’s first title since 2013
Ray Parks Jr. and Alab Pilipinas have won for the Philippines its first ABL championship since 2013

STA. ROSA, LAGUNA – Alab Pilipinas went to its tried and tested recipe for success in the ultimate matchup of the 2017-2018 Asean Basketball League.

Renaldo Balkman and Justin Brownlee were brilliant all throughout, Ray Parks Jr. made his contributions, and the Filipinos left no doubt in getting the better of Thailand’s Mono Vampire, 102-92, in Game 5 of the Finals on Wednesday at the Sta. Rosa Multi-Purpose Complex.

Balkman had six points in the first four minutes as the home team went on a 14-4 run right off the gates.

Brownlee then joined in on the fun as his back-to-back bombs built up a 39-23 lead in the second quarter.

Of course, the Thais would keep coming and got to within five, 54-49, only to see the Philippines respond with a 27-7 tear capped off by Balkman’s two-handed throwdown for an 81-56 edge late in the third period.

Parks Jr. then turned it on late to make sure they sealed the deal. He wound up with 13 points, four assists, and two rebounds.

While his Game 5 numbers were substandard, it was the back-to-back Local MVP who starred for Alab from Games 1 to 4. For that, he was hailed as the hands-down Finals MVP.

Balkman and Brownlee just finished what Parks Jr. started, with the former pounding in 32 points, nine rebounds, six assists, and two steals and the latter almost putting up a triple-double with 24 markers, 12 boards, and nine dimes.

With their Big 3 playing big and their role players all doing their part, the Filipinos claimed for their country its first championship since 2013.

Mike Singletary paced Mono with 32 points while Sam Deguara and Paul Zamar added 24 and 19 markers, respectively.

Court general Jason Brickman was out of sync, however, and only had nine points, seven rebounds, and six assists to go along with five turnovers.


SAN MIGUEL ALAB PILIPINAS 102 – Balkman 32, Brownlee 24, Parks 13, Domingo 9, Raymundo 9, Javelona 7, Urbiztondo 5, Hontiveros 3, Alabanza 0, Celiz 0, Maierhofer 0, Sumalinog 0.

MONO VAMPIRE 92 – Singletary 32, Deguara 24, Zamar 19, Brickman 9, Chanthachon 6, Apiromvilaichai 2, Ananti 0, Boonyai 0, Khunkhandin 0, Klahan 0, Phuangla 0, Sunthonsiri 0.

QUARTER SCORES: 27-14, 54-45, 82-61, 102-92.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News