PBA: Chris Tiu knows his unwritten basketball rules

Paul Lintag on May 02, 2018 10:46 PM
PBA: Chris Tiu knows his unwritten basketball rules
After forcing a crucial turnover to seal Rain or Shine's 98-97 win over NLEX in the 2018 PBA Commissioner's Cup, Tiu had the chance for one final basket in the dying seconds. He missed it on purpose.

ANTIPOLO CITY, Rizal --- Chris Tiu understands his unwritten basketball rules.

After forcing a crucial turnover to seal Rain or Shine's 98-97 win over NLEX in the 2018 PBA Commissioner's Cup, Tiu had the chance for one final basket in the dying seconds.

Some players will still go for it in those kind of situations, thinking about quotients which might come in handy for their team come playoff time.

Chris Tiu is not one of those players.

With the win already in hand, Tiu just casually missed his floater on purpose, choosing to abide by the unwritten rules of basketball.

However, he still had some moments of doubt. Because you know, the quotient system. Probably.

"Wala na, tapos na yun eh. I just threw it up. I wasn't sure if I could have made the shot or not kasi usually pag tapos na yung game, sort of basketball ethics na lang, you don't score it anymore. I was kinda unsure," he said.

"Dapat ba shinoot ko yung huli, hindi na di ba?" Tiu added, asking head coach Caloy Garcia who was making his way out of the Ynares Center as he was being interviewed by the media. "I wasn't sure also if you know, it was the right thing to do kasi it might insult the other team also. I just threw it up for the sake of it because we had the win already."

It's not the first time this conference that an Elasto Painter was put in a similar situation.

Just last week in their opener against Alaska, instead of dribbling the time away, Maverick Ahanmisi scored a layup to put ROS up three.

The only problem was there was still time left in the game and the Aces managed to force overtime after Chris Banchero drilled a miracle triple.

Fortunately, ROS manage to pick up the win nonethelesss and Tiu believes that is scenario was way different.

"t's totally different from what happened before with Alaska that one there was like four seconds on the clock pa eh, dito wala na talaga and we were up by one," he said.

 

 

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News