Champions Ateneo, San Beda to be feted in 2018 Collegiate Basketball Awards

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 17, 2018 03:51 PM
Ateneo, San Beda to be feted in Collegiate Basketball Awards
UAAP champion Ateneo and NCAA champion San Beda will be celebrated one last time before their respective title defenses

Before the collegiate wars commence anew, the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps is set to honor the heroes of the past season in the 2018 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Basketball Awards.

The group, made up of scribes from print and online outfits covering the beat, are set to distinguish the best players from last year when they hold the annual awards night on Thursday at The Bayleaf Hotel in Intramuros.

Set to be awarded are standouts from the championship teams of San Beda University in the NCAA and Ateneo de Manila University in the UAAP.

But the trophies aren’t just limited to them as the group will also hand out special awards to the breakout performers of this past season in the event sponsored by Chooks-to-Go and The Bayleaf Intramuros.

The Red Lions, led by Robert Bolick and coached by Boyet Fernandez, were crowned as the NCAA Season 93 champion in 2017, copping the league’s crown for the 10th time over the last 12 seasons.

The Blue Eagles, coached by Tab Baldwin, captured the UAAP Season 80 title last year after beating La Salle in a thrilling championship series with Thirdy Ravena capturing the Finals MVP.

Both teams are also expected to figure prominently in the title chase for the coming season of their mother leagues.

Latest News