LSGH leader Joel Cagulangan tops first NCAA Edition of NBTC 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Jul 17, 2018 02:21 PM
LSGH leader Cagulangan tops first NCAA Edition of NBTC 24
Joel Cagulangan remains the best player in the NCAA Juniors at the start of Season 2 of the NBTC 24

Last season's second-ranked high school student-athlete Joel Cagulangan wasted no time in proving he is now the top senior with an outstanding performance in La Salle Greenhills' debut in the NCAA Season 94 Juniors Basketball Tournament.

Posting numbers of 20 points, nine assists, and four steals, the La Salle -commit was hailed as the top NCAA prospect in Week 1 of the Chooks-to-Go National Basketball Training Center 24 NCAA Edition.

Though Cagulangan's placing as the top NCAA juniors basketball player came as no surprise, who came next was certainly a bolt from the blue.

San Sebastian's Milo Janao turned heads on opening week, averaging 19 points per game in the two games the Staglets played. The versatile forward also drained the buzzer-beater on the tournament opener to sink Lyceum.

Completing the top five are Perpetual swingman Ezdel Galoy, Greenie double-double machine Inand Fornilos, and Junior Altas' forward Joshua Gallano.

Marwin Dionisio of JRU, Jacob Cortez of LSGH, Zach Estacio of San Beda, Kean Bacalaan of San Sebastian, and John Barba of Lyceum round out the top 10.

Notable names who were not able to crack the top 10 were LSGH's RC Calimag (13), Mapua's Clint Escamis (16), and Lyceum's Mclaude Guadana (22).

Here is the complete Week 1 rankings of the NBTC 24 NCAA Edition:

1. Joel Cagulangan (LSGH)
2. Milo Janao (San Sebastian) 
3. Ezdel Galoy (Perpetual) 
4. Inand Fornilos (LSGH) 
5. Joshua Gallano (Perpetual) 
6. Marwin Dionisio (JRU) 
7. Jacob Cortez (LSGH) 
8. Zach Estacio (San Beda) 
9. Kean Baclaan (San Sebastian)
10. John Barba (LPU) 
11. Yukihiro Kawamura (Perpetual)
12. Thomas Vasquez (JRU) 
13. RC Calimag (CSB) 
14. Dan Sarias (Mapua)
15. Josiah Alcantara (San Beda)
16. Clint Escamis (Mapua) 
17. Dave Balo (San Sebastian) 
18. Marj De Leon (LPU) 
19. Mark Sangco (LsGH) 
20. Cadell Buno (JRU) 
21. Justine Sanchez (San Beda) 
22. McLaude Guadana (LPU)
23. Karl Mariano (Mapua)
24. Kent Pelipel (San Beda) 

This year, there will three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – NCAA, UAAP, and CESAFI to accommodate the entire Juniors calendar. 

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News