Aaron Fermin dominates his way to top of NBTC NCAA 24 Week 3

ABS-CBN Sports on Jul 31, 2018 03:35 PM
Aaron Fermin dominates his way to top of NBTC NCAA 24 Week 3
Big man Aaron Fermin leads three Arellano Braves who are in the top 5 of the NBTC 24 Edition Week 3
It took Arellano a little while to get going, but Aaron Fermin is making sure that the wait is all worth it.
Just like last year, the graduating center is having another memorable start to the year, which makes it no surprise that the Braves are unbeaten through three games so far in the NCAA Season 94 Juniors’ Basketball Tournament.
He first had an eye-popping 12-point, 20-rebound performance against Lyceum and followed it up with an even more dominating 22-point, 18-rebound, and 2-block outing in Arellano’s evisceration of San Sebastian this past week.
And thus, Fermin jumped four spots to claim the pole position in the third week of the Chooks-to-Go NBTC 24 NCAA Edition.
Last week’s number one Clint Escamis dropped a peg, though he remained as stellar with 26 points, eight rebounds, two assists, and two steals in Mapua’s scalping of the Junior Pirates.
Rom Junsay remained as is at third with another pair of solid showings as he averaged 20.0 points for the Braves’ two wins this past week.
La Salle Greenhills guard Joel Cagulangan stayed at fourth while Lars Sunga completed the trifecta of Arellano studs to make it to this week’s top five.
Rounding out the top 10 are Inand Fornilos of the Greenies, Kean Baclaan of the Staglets, John Barba of the Junior Pirates, Jonnel Policarpio of the Red Robins, and Joshua Gallano of the Junior Altas.
Perpetual’s Ezdel Galoy and San Beda’s Zach Estacio both suffered the biggest drop this week as they both fell 13 spots down.
Galoy went from sixth place to 19th after a pedestrian showing for Perpetual, while Estacio went from 11th place to 24 as he barely made the cut to be the lone Red Cub to make it on the list.
Here are the complete Week 3 rankings of the Chooks-to-Go NBTC 24 NCAA Edition:
1. Aaron Fermin (AU) (5)
2. Clint Escamis (MU) (1)
3. Rom Junsay (AU) (3)
4. Joel Cagulangan (CSB) (4)
5. Lars Sunga (AU) (19)
6. Inand Fornilos (CSB) (7)
7. Kean Baclaan (SSCR) (24)
8. John Barba (LPU) (2)
9. Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (20)
10. Joshua Gallano (UPHSD) (13)
11. Milo Janao (SSCR) (15)
12. Dan Arches (MU) (9)
13. John Amores (JRU) (8)
14. Joshua David (CSB) (10)
15. Cjay Boado (EAC) (16)
16. Resty Fornis (AU) (N/A)
17. Mac Guadana (LPU) (12)
18. RC Calimag (CSB) (14)
19. Ezdel Galoy (UPHSD) (6)
20. Ely Ilustrisimo (EAC) (N/A)
21. Sydney Mosqueda (CSB) (21)
22. John Delos Santos (JRU) (N/A)
23. Karl Mariano (MU) (22)
24. Zach Estacio (SBU) (11)
This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year. 
After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News