Cagulangan reclaims top spot in Week 4 of NBTC NCAA 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Aug 06, 2018 07:45 PM
Cagulangan reclaims top spot in Week 4 of NBTC NCAA 24
After adding to his clutch credentials, Joel Cagulangan is back on top of the NBTC 24 NCAA Edition

Joel Cagulangan of La Salle Greenhills has reclaimed the number one spot of the Chooks-to-Go NBTC 24 NCAA Edition. 

The graduating guard had an inspiring performance against the JRU Light Bombers last Tuesday. 

Held scoreless in the first half on 0-for-7 shooting as struggled to find the bottom of the net, last season’s Finals MVP would not go down with a fight. He lit up the scoreboard for 31 points, 18 coming in the final quarter and two overtime periods, to get the win for the Greenies.

Cagulangan followed that feat with an 11-point, 7-asssist in the victory over the Letran Squires, as LSSGH now leads the standings with a 4-1 record. 

For the second week in a row, Clint Escamis of the Mapua Red Robins earned the second spot. The Red Robins went 1-1 the past week with Escamis scoring a total of 56 points.

Rounding up the top five are Milo Janao of the San Sebastian Staglets, Aaron Fermin of the Arellano Braves, and Joshua David of St Benilde. 

Cagulangan's fellow Junior Blazer Inand Fornilos came in at sixth while Mac Guadana of the LPU Junior Pirates made his entry into the top ten to place seventh after putting up 26 points, seven rebounds, and five assists.

Mapua’s Dan Arches, EAC’s JR Illustrisimo, and San Beda’s Jade Talampas complete the top ten. 

Here are the complete Week 4 rankings of the Chooks-to-GoNBTC NCAA 24:

1. Joel Cagulangan (CSB) (4)
2. Clint Escamis (MU) (2)
3. Milo Janao (SSCR) (11)
4. Aaron Fermin (AU) (1)
5. Joshua David (CSB) (14)
6. Inand Fornilos (CSB) (6)
7. Mclaude Guadana (LPU) (17)
8. Dan Arches (MU) (12)
9. JR Ilustrisimo (EAC) (20)
10. Jade Talampas (SBU) (N/A)
11. John Amores (JRU) (13)
12. Marwin Dionisio (JRU) (N/A)
13. Joshua Gallano (UPHSD) (10)
14. Marlon Espiritu (AU) (N/A) 
15. Rom Junsay (AU) (3)
16. Kean Baclaan (SSCR) (7)
17. Karl Mariano (MU) (23)
18. Zach Estacio (SBU) (24)
19. Cjay Boado (EAC) (15)
20. Kai Oliva (SBU) (N/A) 
21. John Barba (LPU) (8)
22. John Delos Santos (JRU) (22)
23. Sydney Mosqueda (CSB) (21)
24. Roseler Sarias (MU) (N/A)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year. 

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News