Mapua’s Clint Escamis reigns anew in NBTC NCAA 24 Week 5

ABS-CBN Sports on Aug 14, 2018 03:24 PM
Mapua’s Clint Escamis reigns anew in NBTC NCAA 24 Week 5
Clint Escamis is atop the rankings for the second time in four weeks

After getting tripped by San Beda, Mapua has taken flight once again in the 94th Season of the NCAA Juniors Basketball Tournament.

Of course, at the controls of the Red Robins ascent is Clint Escamis.

The graduating guard averaged 26.5 points, 6.0 rebounds, and 4.5 steals in their back-to-back wins over San Sebastian and EAC.

Those numbers were, far and away, the best ones any player had for the week.

And so, Escamis now finds himself atop the Week 5 rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24 – the second time he has been there in the last four weeks.

Coming next after him is JRU’s rising star John Amores who fired 27 points, five rebounds, and four assists, in their upset of powerhouse Arellano.

Amores, the frontrunner as the league’s Most Improved Player, also made one of the bigger leaps in the rankings by moving from 11th a week ago to second this time around.

Rounding out the top five are King Brave Aaron Fermin, Perpetual pillar Joshua Gallano, and LSGH lead guard Joel Cagulangan.

From outside the rankings, Mapua’s Jonnel Policarpio pumped in norms of 15.0 points and 13.0 rebounds to place at eighth – sandwiched between teammate Dan Arches and Arellano’s Rom Junsay at sixth and seventh, respectively, as well as LSGH’s RC Calimag and Perpetual’s Emman Galman at ninth, and 10th, respectively.

Meanwhile, San Sebastian rookie stud Milo Janao and Lyceum stalwart Mac Guadana suffered big drops and now stand at 15th and 18th, respectively.

Here are the complete Week 5 rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24:

1. Clint Escamis (MU) (2)
2. John Amores (JRU) (11)
3. Aaron Fermin (AU) (4)
4. Joshua Gallano (UPHSD) (13)
5. Joel Cagulangan (CSB) (1)
6. Dan Arches (MU) (8)
7. Rom Junsay (AU) (15)
8. Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (N/A)
9. RC Calimag (LSGH) (N/A)
10. Emman Galman (UPHSD) (N/A)
11. Inand Fornilos (CSB) (6)
12. Joshua David (CSB) (5)
13. Penny Estacio (SBU) (18)
14. Kean Baclaan (SSCR) (16)
15. Milo Janao (SSCR) (3)
16. Paolo Hernandez (MU) (N/A)
17. John Delos Sanos (JRU) (22)
18. Mac Guadana (LPU) (7)
19. Kai Oliva (SBU) (20)
20. Kent Pelipel (SBU) (N/A)
21. Cjay Boado (EAC) (19)
22. John Barba (LPU) (21)
23. JR Ilustrisimo (EAC) (9)
24. CJ Balowa (EAC) (N/A)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News