LSGH leader Joel Cagulangan holds on to top spot in NBTC NCAA 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 02, 2018 07:27 PM
LSGH leader Cagulangan holds on to top spot in NBTC NCAA 24
Joel Cagulangan retained the recognition as best player in the NCAA Season 94 Juniors in Week 11

Consistent for the majority of NCAA Season 94 Juniors Basketball Tournament, Joel Cagulangan has decided to up the ante entering the homestretch of the eliminations.

The star guard has been on a stupendous tear as of late, being one of the handful of driving forces that keeps the league-leading La Salle Greenhills on top of the standings with its 12-2 card.

And it's no different this past week as Cagulangan dropped 10 points, 10 rebounds, seven assists, and two steals in the Greenies' 16-point dismantling of EAC-ICA.

That's why it's no surprise that for the second straight week, and fourth time overall, he claimed the top spot in the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24 weekly high school rankings.

Chasing him for the pole position are Mapua top gun Clint Escamis, JRU revelation John Amores, LSGH two-way stud Inand Fornilos, and Lyceum super scorer John Barba who all earned spots in this week's top five.

Rounding out the top 10 are Lyceum's Mac Guadana, Mapua's Dan Arches, JRU's John Delos Santos, LSGH's RC Calimag, and Mapua's Jonnel Policarpio.

Calimag was this week's top mover, jumping 14 spots from last week's 23 to enter the top nine, while LSGH's Joshua David, who dropped from third to 11th, and San Sebastian's Milo Janao, who sunk from 10th to 18th, suffered the biggest drop offs going eight spots down.

Here are the complete Week 11 rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24:
1. Joel Cagulangan (CSB) (1)
2. Clint Escamis (MU) (5)
3. John Amores (JRU) (12)
4. Inand Fornilos (CSB) (4)
5. John Barba (LPU) (11)
6. Mac Guadana (LPU) (9)
7. Dan Arches (MU) (2)
8. John Delos Santos (JRU) (N/A)
9. RC Calimag (CSB) (23)
10. Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (8)
11. Joshua David (CSB) (3)
12. Aaron Fermin (AU) (7)
13. Karl Mariano (MU) (N/A)
14. Rom Junsay (AU) (13)
15. Roseler Sarias (MU) (N/A)
16. Emman Galman (UPHSD) (19)
17. Adrian Balowa (EAC) (N/A)
18. Milo Janao (SSCR) (10)
19. Joshua Lazaro (SBU) (N/A)
20. Lars Sunga (AU) (14)
21. Yuri Kawamura (UPHSD) (18)
22. Jearelan Omandac (LPU) (N/A)
23. Winston Ynot (SBU) (N/A)
24. Kean Baclaan (SSCR) (24)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year. 

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News