LSGH dominates this week's NBTC NCAA 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 16, 2018 08:31 PM
LSGH dominates this week's NBTC NCAA 24
Defending champion CSB-LSGH owns three of the top four spots in this week's NBTC NCAA 24

With still two games left in the elimination round, the CSB-LSGH Junior Blazers were the first to secure a twice-to-beat advantage as the Final Four draws near. 

It was the first time in school history they achieved the incentive, proving that they are still the team to beat in the NCAA Juniors Division. 

Led by Inand Fornilos and Joshua David, CSB-LSGH bested Lyceum, 80-75, on Thursday, to notch their 14th win in 16 games.

Fornilos was a man on a mission as he poured in 12 points, 13 rebounds, and two blocks. His stellar play earned him the number one spot in the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24 weekly high school rankings. 

David was equally superb with his 20-point production, placing him right behind Fornilos for the second spot. David also made a significant impact on the defensive end as he challenged the 3-point attempt by John Barba in the closing moments, helping his team get the win. 

At third in the weekly rankings is JRU's John Amores. The versatile swingman put up 12 points, six boards, and three steals in a semis-securing win over EAC that puts them back in the Final Four for the first time since 2014.

Completing the top five are standout guard Joel Cagulangan of the Junior Blazers and Jonnel Policarpio of the Mapua Red Robins. 

Perpetual Help's Ezdel Galoy crashes into the sixth spot after a pair of solid outings. He first put up 19 points and 14 rebounds in a win over EAC then followed it up with another double-double of 21 points and 10 boards vs Letran. 

Rounding up the top ten are Mapua's Dan Arches, Arellano's Aaron Fermin, Lyceum's Mac Guadana, and Mapua's Clint Escamis. 

Here are the complete Week 14 rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24:
1. Inand Fornilos (CSB) (4)
2. Joshua David (CSB) (15)
3. John Amores (JRU) (3)
4. Joel Cagulangan (CSB) (2)
5. Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (7)
6. Ezdel Galoy (UPHSD) (N/A)
7. Dan Arches (MU) (13)
8. Aaron Fermin (AU) (6)
9. Mac Guadana (LPU) (1)
10. Clint Escamis (MU) (8)
11. Emman Galman (UPHSD) (11)
12. Penny Estacio (SBU) (N/A)
13. Marwin Dionisio (JRU) (N/A)
14. Rom Junsay (AU) (10)
15. John Barba (LPU) (9)
16. Tony Ynot (SBU) (N/A)
17. Milo Janao (SSC) (24)
18. Justine Sanchez (SBU) (N/A)
19. John Delos Santos (JRU) (5)
20. Ronald Bucoy (JRU) (N/A)
21. RC Calimag (CSB) (14)
22. Kean Baclaan (SSC) (12)
23. JR Ilustrisimo (EAC) (N/A)
24. Shawn Argente (CSJL) (N/A)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News