MVP Joel Cagulangan is also top player of NCAA NBTC 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 20, 2018 07:25 PM
MVP Joel Cagulangan is also top player of NCAA NBTC 24
Joel Cagulangan is now both the NCAA 94 MVP and the top player in the NBTC NCAA 24

Joel Cagulangan proved to be head and shoulders above everybody else in the field this NCAA Season 94, topping the final Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA high school player rankings.

The cat-quick guard from La Salle Greenhills showed what he's made of in his final year in the Juniors, towing his side to its second consecutive Finals appearance while also bagging the Season MVP award in the process.

Cagulangan's efforts, averaging 18.7 points, 7.1 assists, 6.1 rebounds, and 2.1 steals for the Greenies in his senior year, bolstered his argument to being the best high school point guard in the country and bagged for him the top spot on the list.

However, to the victors go the spoils and four Mapua Red Robins made their way to the top 10 of the rankings.

Dan Arches claimed the second spot after putting Mapua on his shoulders in the playoffs, while Finals MVP Paolo Hernandez jumped to third with his starmaking performance in Game 3 of the championship round.

Mythical Team memer Clint Escamis (seventh) and Rookie of the Year Jonnel Policarpio (ninth) also found their way into the top half of the list.

Greenies big man Inand Fornilos wound up at the fourth spot followed by Most Improved Player John Amores of JRU at five, then Defensive Player of the Year Aaron Fermin of Arellano at six.

Completing the top 10 of this year's NCAA rankings are LSGH's Joshua David at eighth and Lyceum's Mac Guadana at 10th.

Here's the final rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA 24:
1.            Joel Cagulangan (CSB)
2.            Dan Arches (MU)
3.            Paolo Hernandez (MU)
4.            Inand Fornilos (CSB)
5.            John Amores (JRU)
6.            Aaron Fermin (AU)
7.            Clint Escamis (MU)
8.            Joshua David (CSB)
9.            Jonnel Policarpio (MU)
10.          Mac Guadana (LPU)
11.          John Barba (LPU)
12.          Milo Janao (SSCR)
13.          John Delos Santos (JRU)
14.          Rom Junsay (AU)
15.          Thomas Vasquez (JRU)
16.          Tony Ynot (SBU)
17.          Emman Galman (UPHSD)
18.          Marwin Dionisio (JRU)
19.          Ezdel Galoy (UPHSD)
20.          Jade Talampas (SBU)
21.          RC Calimag (CSB)
22.          JR Ilustrisimo (EAC)
23.          Kean Baclaan (SSCR)
24.          Penny Estacio (SBU)

This year, there are three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News