UV's Joshua Yerro has highest ceiling in NBTC CESAFI 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 20, 2018 07:25 PM
UV's Joshua Yerro has highest ceiling in NBTC CESAFI 24
At the end of the season, Joshua Yerro (white jersey, with ball) of UV is the most promising prospect from the CESAFI

Do-it-all forward Joshua Yerro was named as the best player from the south as he grabbed the top spot in the final rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC CESAFI 24.

The merit was consolation for the pride of Ormoc, whose University of Visayas was upset by University of Cebu in the recently-concluded CESAFI Finals.

The 6-foot-2 forward was somehow denied of a spot in the Mythical Five in spite of averages of 18 points, 15 rebounds, four assists, and three steals, but there was no doubt that he was the best from the field this year.

Two more Baby Lancers earned their way in the top three with shifty guard Gabriel Cometa at second and CESAFI slam dunk champion Popoy Actub at third.

Baby Webmaster Jerick Jan Ranido, who was named the Finals MVP, settled for fourth while Kendrick Abarquez of the University of San Jose-Recoletos rounded out the top five.

Completing the top 10 are Rojan Montemayor of the University of Southern Philippines Foundation, Koko Tuadles of Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, Justin Mondares of UC, UV’s Beirn Laurente, and then Isaiah Blanco-Hontiveros from UC yet again.

Here's the final rankings of the Chooks-to-Go/NBTC CESAFI 24:
1.            Joshua Yerro (UV)
2.            Gabriel Cometa (UV)
3.            Popoy Actub (UV)
4.            Jerick Jan Ranido (UC)
5.            Kendrick Abarquez (USJ-R)
6.            Rojan Montemayor (USPF)
7.            Koko Tuadles (Ateneo de Cebu)
8.            Justin Mondares (UC)
9.            Biern Laurente (UV)
10.          Isaiah Blanco-Hontiveros (UC)
11.          James Incio (UC)
12.          Matthew Paras (USJ-R)
13.          Keith Co (USJ-R)
14.          Neon Chavez (USPF)
15.          Khadshein Tagalog (USC)
16.          Joshua Canoy (Don Bosco)
17.          Jasper Pacana (UC)
18.          Clint Octaviano (USC)
19.          Vernald Almacin (CEC)
20.          Michael Cutamora (Ateneo de Cebu)
21.          LA Casinillo (Ateneo de Cebu)
22.          Matthew Flores (SWU-PHINMA)
23.          Andre Gabutero (CEC)
24.          Matthew Prince Carin (CIT-U)

This year, there are three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News