Davao Occidental roars to ninth win in a row in MPBL

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 21, 2018 04:10 PM
Davao Occidental roars to ninth win in a row in MPBL
Davao Occidental remains red-hot now in the stretch run of the MPBL

Streaking Davao Occidental extended its winning run to nine straight by beating Zamboanga even as host team Valenzuela scuttled Mandaluyong in the 2018 Marharlika Pilipinas Basketball League Datu Cup last Tuesday at the Valenzuela Astrodome.

The Tigers demolished the Valientes, 93-68, to fortify its hold of the solo spot in the southern division of this tournament.

Mark Yee, one of the few ex-pros playing for the Tigers, came up with another double-double performance. He tallied 25 points and grabbed 12 boards to power his team to its 11th win in 14 games.

Davao Occidental was a picture of consistency in its game against Zamboanga. The Tigers shot 50-percent from the field (39-of-78). They were also more active in getting the rebounds as they  clobbered the Valientes in the battle of the boards, 53-30. Davao Occidental unleashed its superiority by playing better as a team, dishing out 13 more assists than Zamboanga, 29-16.

But the Tigers’ win was nearly overshadowed by Valenzuela’s 78-64 victory over struggling Mandaluyong.

The host team posted its first back-to-back victories since Eric Samson took over as mentor of the Classic, who now improved their win-loss record to 6-9.

Chris de Chavez caught fire, hitting 20 markers highlighted  by a steady 6-of-10 shooting from the three-point region to lead the way for the Classic, who led by as many as 22 points, 65-43.

The loss was the seventh straight for the El Tigre, who now dropped to 6-8, now tied with the Pasay Voyagers in sixth to seventh places in the tough northern division.

Only eight out of the 13 squads per division will advance to the playoffs as teams belonging to the same group will play in a best-of-three quarterfinal series.

Top seeded teams will play the No. 8 squad, the No.2 battles No. 7, No. 3 meets No. 6 and No. 4 tackles No. 5. The champions of the north and south will clash in a best-of-five championship series to determine the first ever National Champion, which will become the recipient of the P10-million trophy.

Latest News