Paranaque is first-ever king of NBL

ABS-CBN Sports on Dec 10, 2018 12:53 PM
Paranaque is first-ever king of NBL
Photo courtesy of NBL

Parañaque defeated Dasmariñas in double overtime, 112-104, last Saturday to capture the first National Basketball League (NBL) title at the Ugnayang La Salle Gymnasium in Dasmariñas City.

Noy Bermudes scored 19 points to win the Finals MVP while Jess Quilatan added 19 points to pick up the win in Game 2 after they also took the series opener with an 85-71 decision.

The Aces completed the sweep of the best-of-three finals series to gain the distinction as the inaugural champion of the league for homegrown talents.

Parañaque was able to overcome a 92-97 deficit with 23 seconds left in the first overtime, with Quilatan scoring all five points including a triple with 1.9 seconds left to force the second overtime where the Aces never looked back.

“Nagpapasalamat ako kay Lord na binigyan nila ako ng players na hindi nag-give up hanggang huli. Alam namin na parang wala nang pag-asa pero still, yung mga puso ng mga bata, hindi nag-give up. Parang mga beterano na,” said Parañaque coach Harold Sta. Cruz.

Meanwhile, John Cantimbuhan of Dasmariñas won the Season MVP award and the Mythical Five plum along with teammate JP Rabe, Bermudes, Shinichi Manacsa of Laguna, and Joseph Celso of Bulacan.

JR Galit of Parañaque won the Sixth Man of the Year award.

Latest News