Ateneo, San Beda headline two groups in 2019 PBA D-League

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Feb 02, 2019 05:59 PM
Ateneo, San Beda headline two groups in 2019 PBA D-League
Ateneo and San Beda have been grouped away from one another in the looming 2019 PBA D-League

UAAP champion Ateneo de Manila University and NCAA champion San Beda University are the headliners for the two groups that will be pitted against one another in the 2019 PBA D-League.

The Blue Eagles, backed by Cignal, banner Group A where they will be challenged by champion teams Go for Gold-College of St. Benilde and St. Clare-Virtual Reality as well as contenders AMA, Batangas-Emilio Aguinaldo College, Che’Lu Bar and Grill, Family Mart-Enderun, Ironcon-University of Sto. Tomas, McDavid, and Petron-Colegio de San Juan de Letran.

Group B, on the other hand, will be topbilled by the Red Lions, now supported by Metropac Movers, and will be comprised of UCBL kings Diliman College together with Centro Escolar University, Cha Dao Milktea-Far Eastern University, Marinerong Pilipino, The Masterpiece-Trinity University of Asia, SMDC-National University, University of Perpetual Help, Valencia City-San Sebastian College-Recoletos, and Wangs.

Both groups will go at in a single round-robin elimination round. Both groups will then each send its top four teams to the crossover quarterfinals with the top-seeds having twice-to-beat advantage.

The winners of the quarterfinals then move on to the best-of-three semifinals and, finally, the victors from there will be catapulted onto the best-of-five Finals.

The latest season of the PBA D-League tips off on February 16 at the Ynares Arena in Pasig.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News