26-20 at expense of DLSZ keeps Kai Sotto atop NBTC UAAP 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 06, 2019 03:46 PM
26-20 at expense of DLSZ keeps Kai Sotto atop NBTC UAAP 24
Kai Sotto has played on another level in the past three weeks

Kai Sotto proved once again why he remains the top-ranked high school player in the country. 

The leading MVP candidate of the UAAP 81 Juniors had another dominant outing as he posted 26 points and 20 rebounds in Ateneo's 88-59 win over archrival De La Salle Zobel last Sunday. The victory gave the Blue Eaglets a 10-3 record to inch closer to a possible twice-to-beat advantage in the Final Four. 

After yet another herculean effort, Sotto garnered the top spot in the Chooks-to-Go NBTC UAAP 24 high school rankings for the third week in a row. The 16-year-old phenom has now earned the distinction as the number one player for a grand total of five times.

As Sotto continues to be a force to be reckoned with, Mark Nonoy catapulted himself into the second spot after leading the UST Tiger Cubs to a stunning upset over semis bound FEU Baby Tamaraws.

Nonoy torched the defense for 24 points, 10 boards, and six assists in UST’s 86-83 victory.

Fellow Tiger Cub Bismarck Lina was right behind Nonoy with a 22-point, 18-rebound performance, barging his way to number four. 

Rounding up the top five are two players from the league-leading NU Bullpups after their 51-point rout against the UPIS Junior Maroons. Terrence Fortea returned from his one game suspension with a vengeance, scoring 23 points, including six triples, to make his entry into number three. Teammate Gerry Abadiano is at fifth after pouring in 17 points in the Bulldogs’ 12th win of the season. 

Here are the complete Week 10 rankings of the Chooks-to-Go NBTC UAAP 24:
1. Kai Sotto (ADMU) (1)
2. Mark Nonoy (UST) (7)
3. Terrence Fortea (NU) (15)
4. Bismarck Lina (UST) (13)
5. Gerry Abadiano (NU) (3)
6. Joem Sabandal (AdU) (2)
7. Forthsky Padrigao (ADMU) (4)
8. Kevin Quiambao (NU) (12)
9. RJ Abarrientos (FEU) (6)
10. Carl Tamayo (NU) (5)
11. Royce Alforque (FEU) (24)
12. Geo Chiu (ADMU) (10)
13. Xyrus Torres (FEU) (11)
14. Ivan Cudiamat (DLSZ) (22)
15. Ian Espinosa (ADMU) (14)
16. Andrey Doria (AdU) (9)
17. Didat Hanapi (AdU) (N/A)
18. Jomar Amador (UST) (N/A)
19. Steve Nash Enriquez (NU) (N/A)
20. King Vergiere (UPIS) (23)
21. Shane Dichoso (UE) (18)
22. Liam Manabat (UST) (N/A)
23. Adam Doria (AdU) (8)
24. Jesse Sullano (UE) (N/A)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News