NU tower Carl Tamayo rises to number one in NBTC UAAP 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 14, 2019 05:20 PM
NU tower Carl Tamayo rises to number one in NBTC UAAP 24
Carl Tamayo is just starting to show what he's truly made of for NU

Carl Tamayo hasn't had the best of years this UAAP Season 81 Juniors' Basketball Tournament.

The NU slotman has been on-and-off all season long, which hampered his candidacy to stake his case among the league's elite.

But on the final week of the eliminations, Tamayo showed his true colors and dropped 11 points and nine rebounds, showing the way for the Bullpups as they swept the second round with a big 81-75 victory over FEU-Diliman.

And thus, at long last, the 6-foot-8 former Batang Gilas stud has snared the pole position in the Chooks-to-Go NBTC UAAP 24 high school rankings as NU finished the eliminations on top at 13-1.

Tamayo put an end to Kai Sotto's three-week run at the top of the standings, forcing the runaway MVP from Ateneo to settle for no. 2 this week despite his 17-point, 15-rebound, and 2-block effort over Adamson.

UST senior guard Mark Nonoy finished at third after ending his high school career with a solid win over De La Salle Zobel, as NU guard Gerry Abadiano earned the no. 4 spot. FEU-Diliman sniper RJ Abarrientos completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 are Ateneo's Geo Chiu, NU's Terrence Fortea, Ateneo's Forthsky Padrigao, Adamson's Joem Sabandal, and UST's Bismarck Lina.

Here are the complete Week 11 rankings of the Chooks-to-GoNBTC UAAP 24:
1.            Carl Tamayo (NU) (10)
2.            Kai Sotto (ADMU) (1)
3.            Mark Nonoy (UST) (2)
4.            Gerry Abadiano (NU) (5)
5.            RJ Abarrientos (FEU) (9)
6.            Geo Chiu (ADMU) (12)
7.            Terrence Fortea (NU) (3)
8.            Forthsky Padrigao (ADMU) (7)
9.            Joem Sabandal (AdU) (6)
10.          Bismarck Lina (UST) (4)
11.          Adam Doria (AdU) (23)
12.          Ian Espinosa (ADMU) (15)
13.          Royce Alforque (FEU) (11)
14.          Andrey Doria (AdU) (16)
15.          Jesse Sullano (UE) (24)
16.          Bryan Sajonia (FEU) (N/A)
17.          Jomar Amador (UST) (18)
18.          Jacob Estrera (UPIS) (N/A)
19.          Xyrus Torres (FEU) (13)
20.          Mike Flores (UE) (N/A)
21.          Shane Dichoso (UE) (21)
22.          Joshua Barcelona (AdU) (N/A)
23.          Nat Sevilla (DLSZ) (N/A)
24.          AP Manlapaz (AdU) (N/A)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News