National U out to make history in 2019 NBTC League Nationals

ABS-CBN Sports on Mar 12, 2019 05:41 PM
National U out to make history in 2019 NBTC League Nationals
Gerry Abadiano and the National U Bullpups are ready and raring to do something no other team has done in the history of the NBTC

NCR's representatives in the 2019 Chooks-to-Go SM NBTC League National Finals will be a mix of traditional powerhouses and driven upstarts.

Leading the way is Nazareth School of National U which has a golden opportunity to win back-to-back championships - a feat that has not been achieved in the 12-year history of the national championship for high school.

The Bullpups, captained by Gerry Abadiano alongside super scorer Terrence Fortea and twin towers Kevin Quiambao and Carl Tamayo, are heading into the 32-team tournament with a full head of steam, just three weeks removed from reclaiming the UAAP crown.

However, UAAP runner-up Ateneo, fronted by 7-foot-2, 16-year-old Kai Sotto, will yet again be there to challenge them.

Also determined to make their marks in the event sponsored by Chooks-to-Go, Darlington-Exped Socks, EPSON, Huawei, Freego, Purefoods, Gatorade, Go for Gold, SM, and Molten is NCAA champion Mapua steered by Finals MVP Paolo Hernandez and clutch Dan Arches and second-placer La Salle Green Hills spearheaded by versatile Joshua David and workhorse Inand Fornilos.

Metro Manila Basketball League titlist San Beda and fellow finalist Letran as well as wildcards Hope Christian and FEU-Diliman round out the NCR's participants in the week-long showcase of the most promising young talent in the country.

The NCR qualifiers will wage war with 26 other teams in the annual NBTC League Nationals from March 18 to 24 at the MOA Arena.

Last year, while National U was crowned king of Division 1, La Salle Lipa ruled Division 2.

Latest News