Mindanao hoping for another breakthrough in 2019 NBTC League Nationals

ABS-CBN Sports on Mar 14, 2019 05:03 PM
Mindanao hoping for another breakthrough in 2019 NBTC
Four Mindanao teams are nothing but confident they can go toe-to-toe with the best of the best teams from all over the Philippines

They may be outnumbered, but the four teams hailing from Mindanao are not backing down from anybody in the 2019 Chooks-to-Go SM NBTC League National Finals.

Cagayan de Oro's Southern Philippine Colleges, Davao del Norte's St. Mary's College of Tagum, General Santos's Holy Trinity College, and Pagadian's Zamboanga del Sur National High School are sure to give their all in the national championship for high school sponsored by Chooks-to-Go, Darlington-Exped Socks, EPSON, Huawei, Freego, Purefoods, Gatorade, Go for Gold, SM, and Molten.

Among them, SPC is the most confident, fresh off a takedown of regional power Assumption Montessori School.

The Baby Sharks leaned on 6-foot-2 swingman Jericho Montecalvo to lead them to victory against Assumption, the school that won the NBTC Division 2 championship just two years ago.

Now, Montecalvo and the rest of the Mindanaoans are hoping to make a name for themselves once more in the week-long showcase of the most promising young talent in the country.

The Mindanao qualifiers will wage war with 28 other teams in the annual NBTC League Nationals from March 18 to 24 at the MOA Arena.

Last year, National U was crowned king of Division 1 while La Salle Lipa ruled Division 2.

MINDANAO QUALIFIERS: Zamboanga del Sur National High School (Region IX), Southern Philippine Colleges (Region X), St. Mary's College of Tagum (Region XI), Holy Trinity College (Region XII).

Latest News