Jalen Green, David Carlos battle to stalemate in NBTC Slam Dunk Contest

ABS-CBN Sports on Mar 23, 2019 04:49 PM
Green, Carlos battle to stalemate in NBTC Slam Dunk Contest
Jalen Green and David Carlos were too good that the NBTC All-Star Slam Dunk Contest had to have co-champions

Jalen Green and David Carlos put on a show as they were hailed as co-champions for the Dunk Contest of the 2019 Chooks-to-Go NBTC All-Star presented by SM on Saturday.

Both dunkers gave it their all as they gave a treat to the delight of a packed SM Mall of Asia Arena crowd.

Green and Carlos both scored perfect 50 points in the dunk-off with the latter throwing down two balls one after the other and the former responding with a difficult behind-the-back one-handed slam that sent everyone to their feet.

The two also brought the goods back in the championship round.

Carlos unveiled his scorpion dunk, slamming the ball with his left hand, while also paying homage to judge Metta World Peace as he jumped over four people.

Meanwhile, Green converted on an off-the-bounce two-handed slam, as well as a forceful tomahawk jam off a lob from his FilAm Sports USA teammate Jaden Saunders.

Kai Ballungay of FilAm Sports and viral dunker Darwin Cantong were also part of the field in the side event of the national championship for high school backed by Chooks-to-Go, Darlington-Exped Socks, EPSON, Huawei, Freego, Purefoods, Gatorade, Go for Gold, SM, and Molten.

Meanwhile, John Erolon of St. Louis of Don Bosco-Dumaguete reigned supreme in the Three-Point Shootout.

Erolon drilled 16 points in the Finals to edge out Ethan Galang of FilAm Sports USA who only had 13.

Also joining the fray are Jerric Palma of Top Flight Hoops-Vancouver, Jordan Perez of Camp David-New Zealand, Jason Diaz of Durham Crossover-Canada, Luigi Cuevas of Italy Europe Proudly Pinoy, Jarred Lao of La Salle Green Hills, and Angelo Cacho of University of Baguio.

Jasper Rentoy of AusPinoy also came away with the Skills Challenge title, blowing out Carl Tamayo of Nazareth School of National University in the championship match.

RJ Abarrientos of FEU-Diliman and Kai Sotto of Ateneo made it to the semifinals, while eliminated in the first round were Geo Chiu of Ateneo, Ladis Lepalam of LSGH, Reimar Cruz of Camp David-New Zealand, and Robert Norombaba of Dolores National HS-Eastern Samar.

Latest News