UP unleashes Paras, Rivero in Ateneo-less 2019 Filoil Preseason

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Apr 27, 2019 05:14 PM
UP unleashes Paras, Rivero in Ateneo-less Filoil Preseason
UP figures in a stacked Group A which also has NCAA champion San Beda and rejuvenated UST

The University of the Philippines is out to build on its breakthrough campaign last season in the UAAP by dominating the 2019 Filoil Flying V Preseason Tournament which will not have defending champion Ateneo de Manila University.

The Fighting Maroons will no longer have school icon Paul Desiderio, but will still be armed with MVP Bright Akhuetie, Mythical selection Juan Gomez de Liano, and stalwarts Javi Gomez de Liano, Janjan Jaboneta, and Jun Manzo.

Alongside them will now be transferees Kobe Paras and Ricci Rivero who are finally good to go for State U after serving their residency.

They will be waging war in Group A that also includes NCAA champion San Beda University and playoff team University of Perpetual Help as well as rejuvenated University of Sto. Tomas

Rounding out Group A are Aljun Melecio and Justine Baltazar-led De La Salle University, Allyn Bulanadi and RK Ilagan-led San Sebastian College-Recoletos, and rebuilding Arellano University and Jose Rizal University.

In the opposite group, NCAA contenders Colegio de San Juan de Letran and Lyceum of the Philippines University banner the competition.

They will do battle in Group B with UAAP Final Four squads Adamson University and Far Eastern University as well as dangerous upstarts College of St. Benilde, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Mapua University, and National University.

Both groups will first see action in a round robin format before the top two teams from each collide in the crossover playoffs.

The Blue Eagles, last year’s champions, and University of the East will not be suiting up in the tournament. 

Latest News