Indian team is first non-Pasig, non-Bataan winner in Chooks Pilipinas 3x3

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 23, 2019 05:20 PM
Indian team is first non-Pasig, non-Bataan winner
India's VetHealth-Delhi 3BL won the second leg of the 2019 Chooks Pilipinas 3x3 - the first team to win a leg aside from Pasig or Bataan (Photo courtesy of Chooks Pilipinas 3x3)

Fielding a complete lineup, VetHealth-Delhi 3BL dominated the second leg of the 2019 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3x3 Patriot's Cup presented by Coca-Cola.

Still, the world's no. 15 squad needed a game-winner from Kiran Shastri to outlast the Phenom-Basilan Steel, 21-20 (3:36), Sunday afternoon at the SM Fairview Events Center.

"It was a hard-fought tournament. Really excited to be here," said Shastri, the no. 62-ranked player in the world. "It was a good win for us and we’re really proud of the way we played."

Down 19-20 with under four minutes left in the game, Shastri missed a deuce but the  ball was rebounded by big man Bikramjit Gill. Bikramjit then found a wide-open Shastri, who knocked down the game-winning deuce.

Indian national team member AJ Gill added seven points for VetHealth-Delhi.

Besides bringing home PHP 100,000, VetHealth-Delhi closed in on Gold's Gym-Pasig in the standings.

The Kings, who will miss the third leg as they will join the Poitiers Challenger in France from July 6 to 7, remain on top with 170 points. VetHealth-Delhi and Phenom-Basilan are tied at second with 160 points. Wilkins-Balanga completes the top four with 130 points.

This was the first-ever leg in league history that did not feature either Pasig or Balanga in the Finals as the former lost to Basilan, 18-20, while the latter fell to Delhi, 15-22 (1:43).

In the side events, Shastri retained his Coca-Cola Two-Point Shootout crown after outlasting Inoza-Gulf Bulacan's Jan Jamon in the 25-second tiebreaker, 6-5. 

On the other hand, David Carlos remained the Coca-Cola Slam Dunk king after stamping his class over Jebb Bulawan and Kenyan dunk artist Obi Fly.

The third stop of the Patriot's Cup takes place on Saturday, July 6 at the SM Muntinlupa Events Center.

Latest News