RC Calimag erupts all the way up to top spot of NCAA NBTC 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Aug 05, 2019 02:57 PM
RC Calimag erupts all the way up to top spot of NCAA NBTC 24
RC Calimag has been nothing but big in CSB-LSGH's rise to the top spot in the standings

The La Salle Green Hills Greenies have been on a tear in the early going of the NCAA Season 95 Juniors Basketball Tournament.

Through five games, they’ve risen to the top of the team standings with a 4-1 slate, anchored by a three-game winning streak. 

Much to do with the Greenies’ success has been veteran scorer RC Calimag, earning for him the no. 1 spot in the second rankings reveal of the Phenom NBTC NCAA 24.

The graduating swingman garnered an average of 28.0 points and 5.0 rebounds after LSGH's victories over Mapua, San Sebastian, and San Beda. His most recent scoring exploit was a 30-point masterpiece, all while going 6-of-7 from deep, against the previously undefeated Red Cubs.

Barging his way to the second spot and making his debut in the rankings is the Greenies' Jan Manansala. A steady presence in the paint, Manansala posted gaudy numbers of 15.0 points, 13.0 rebounds, and 3.0 blocks in their three consecutive victories. 

San Beda’s Rhayyan Amsali settled for third place in the rankings while Mapua’s Jonnel Policaprio is fourth after immediately making his felt presence felt in his return for the Red Robins. He had a 20-point, 11-rebound outing in a loss to LSGH then followed it up with a near triple-double of 19 points, 15 rebounds, and nine assists in a win over Letran.

Rounding out the top five is JRU's Gholam Garcia and then Perpetual’s Emman Galman is at sixth, Lyceum’s Mac Guadana is at seventh, San Beda's Yukien Andrada is at eighth, Lyceum's John Barba is at ninth, and Perpetual's Shawn Orgo is at 10th.

Here is the complete list of the second Phenom NBTC NCAA 24 rankings:
1. RC Calimag (LSGH) (15)
2. Jan Manansala (LSGH) (N/A)
3. Rhayyan Amsali (SBU) (2) 
4. Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (N/A) 
5. Gholam Garcia (JRU) (4) 
6. Emman Galman (UPHSD) (5) 
7. Mac Guadana (LPU) (1) 
8. Yukien Andrada (SBU) (12) 
9. John Barba (LPU) (6) 
10. Shawn Orgo (UPHSD) (14) 
11. Milo Janao (SSCR) (16) 
12. Lennox Valenzuela (LSGH) (N/A) 
13. Darren Nepomuceno (AU) (N/A) 
14. Condrad Famaranco (JRU) (8) 
15. Dylan Darbin (SSCR) (N/A) J
16. Joshua Ramirez (CSJL) (7) 
17. Gyle Montano (LPU) (N/A) 
18. Charles Delfino (SBU) (13) 
19. Kim Bulasa (SSCR) (N/A) 
20. Edzel Galoy (UPHSD) (11) 
21. Anthony Fransman (MU) (N/A) 
22. Shawn Argente (CSJL) (22)
23.  Jae Omandac (LPU) (3) 
24. Megan Galang (MU) (N/A)

This year, there will be four separate editions of the NBTC 24 - one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, one for the CESAFI, and one for all the other venues where the most promising prospects in the country also get to showcase their skills.

After all four editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News