Justine Sanchez busts out to top spot of NBTC NCAA 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Sep 12, 2019 02:30 PM
Justine Sanchez busts out to top spot of NBTC NCAA 24
(Photo by Richard Esguerra)

Justine Sanchez has done it all and has given his all to make sure San Beda continues its contention in the NCAA 95 Juniors Basketball Tournament.

In doing so, the long-limbed forward has made the leap from role player to key cog of a Red Cub machine seeking to reclaim the crown it last wore back in 2015.

In the last two weeks alone, Sanchez posted per game counts of 19.5 points, 8.5 rebounds, and 2.0 blocks through two games.

And behind the double-double threat, San Beda rang off two straight statement wins over rising squad Lyceum and defending champion Mapua.

Without a doubt, his efforts were more than enough to catapult Sanchez to no. 1 in the latest Phenom NBTC NCAA 24.

The graduating wing isn't the lone reason the Red Cubs are atop the leaderboard, however, as three other teammates join him in the top six of the bi-weekly rankings of the brightest stars in high school.

Tony Ynot and Rhayyan Amsali rose to third and fourth, respectively, after the former normed 14.5 points, 7.5 rebounds, and 3.5 steals and the latter averaged 15.0 points, 7.5 assists, 7.0 rebounds, and 2.5 steals in their back-to-back wins.

Completing the first five are Lyceum top gun Mac Guadana at second and LSGH floor leader Kobe Palencia at fifth while San Beda's Yukien Andrada stands at sixth.

John Barba of Lyceum, Jonnel Policarpio of Mapua, Joshua Ramirez of Letran, and RC Calimag of LSGH then follow suit from sixth to 10th.

Here is the complete list of the third Phenom NBTC NCAA 24 rankings:
1 Justine Sanchez (SBU) (3)
2 Mac Guadana (LPU) (1)
3 Tony Ynot (SBU) (N/A)
4 Rhayyan Amsali (SBU) (7)
5 Kobe Palencia (LSGH) (10)
6 Yukien Andrada (SBU) (4)
7 John Barba (LPU) (8)
8 Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (2)
9 Joshua Ramirez (CSJL) (11)
10 RC Calimag (LSGH) (5)
11 Jae Omandac (LPU) (6)
12 Emman Galman (UPHSD) (15)
13 Jiam Quiambao (LSGH) 14)
14 Megan Galang (MU) (12)
15 Dylan Darbin (SSCR) (N/A)
16 Gyle Montano (LPU) (19)
17 Milo Janao (SSCR) (N/A)
18 Lenard Santiago (CSJL) (N/A)
19 Shawn Umali (CSJL) (9)
20 Adrian Rellama (AU) (17)
21 Shawn Orgo (UPHSD) (21)
22 Rafael Are (SSCR) (N/A)
23 Neil Castor (MU) (N/A)
24 Adrian Balowa (EAC) (N/A)

This year, there will be four separate editions of the NBTC 24 - one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, one for the CESAFI, and one for all the other venues where the most promising prospects in the country also get to showcase their skills.

After all four editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News