ABL: Jason Brickman, Jeremiah Gray bolster Alab’s bid to reclaim crown

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 10, 2019 01:20 PM
ABL: Brickman, Gray bolster Alab’s bid to reclaim crown
(Photo by Arvin Lim)

San Miguel Alab Pilipinas will no longer have Ray Parks Jr. as it tries to win back the championship in the upcoming 2019-2020 Asean Basketball League.

Make no mistake, though - the Filipinos are all set to continue contending with a brand new core comprised of trusted holdovers and promising newcomers.

Back for more action while wearing the flag are energizer Lo Domingo and athletic Brandon Rosser.

Joining them are then pint-sized playmaker Jason Brickman and all-around wing Jeremiah Grey.

Brickman is a league veteran who will be playing for his home team for the first time after suiting up for Mono Vampire and Westports Malaysia Dragons. He averaged 12.8 points in 43 percent shooting from the field on top of 8.9 assists, 4.5 rebounds, and 1.8 steals for team Thailand last year.

Meanwhile, Grey will make his ABL debut after showcasing his skills for Mighty Sports-Pilipinas in the 2019 Dubai International Basketball Championship and then in the 2019 Jones Cup. The 6-foot-5, 23-year-old is a known high-flyer who also has the touch from outside.

Still calling the shots is Jimmy Alapag who won a championship in his first season as head coach and then led the team to the playoffs for a follow-up.

Alab's imports are yet to be determined, but according to team owner Charlie Dy, they will be parading three foreign reinforcements for the first time.

In its first three years, the Philippine team has always trotted out 1-2 punch for imports in the likes of brothers Lee and Dong Seung Jun, Sampson Carter and James Hughes, Renaldo Balkman and Justin Brownlee, and Balkman and PJ Ramos.

With this, Alab is hoping to reclaim the crown it last wore in 2018.

That is easier said than done, though, with Taiwan's Formosa Dreamers and Fubon Braves, Thailand's Mono Vampire, Vietnam's Saigon Heat, Malaysia's Westports Dragons, Zhuhai's Wolf Warriors, Hong Kong Eastern, Macau Black Bears, and Singapore Slingers all certain to go all-out to stake claim to the throne last year's champions CLS Knights has vacated.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News