PSI-Air Force is first-ever WNBL champion

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 15, 2019 03:36 PM
PSI-Air Force is first-ever WNBL champion
(Photo courtesy of NBL)

PSI-Air Force overcame Taguig, 72-61, last Sunday to sweep the Finals of the Women’s National Basketball League (WNBL) Season 1 at the Bren Z. Guiao Convention Center in San Fernando, Pampanga.

Gemma Miranda scored 23 points and grabbed nine rebounds for PSI Air in Game 2 to lead the Lady Air Defenders to the title in the Women’s National Basketball League’s inaugural season.

Miranda, a member of the Gilas Pilipinas Women, was also named Finals MVP for her efforts in the entire series.

PSI Air was dominant from the start, holding a 26-point lead at one point in the game on its way to sweeping the championship series.

The Lady Air Defenders also completed their Cinderella run by winning the crown as the fourth-seed in the semifinals. They finished fourth in the eliminations with a 4-2 card and then swept the playoffs including an upset series win over top-ranked Philippine Navy.

Anna Buendia churned 12 points and Cindy Resultay had 11 points and nine rebounds for PSI.

National standout Janine Pontejos won the Season MVP before collecting 21 points, but the Lady Generals still fell short in grabbing the title.


PSI AIR 72 – Miranda 23, Buendia 12, Resultay 11, Columna 8, Sandel 7, Almazan 7, Bernardo 4, Ortega 0, Tecson 0, Avila 0, Paig 0.

TAGUIG 61 – Pontejos 21, Sto. Domingo 10, Borja 8, Cabinbin 7, Sambile 6, Gelisan 3, Garcia 2, Flormata 2, Lavalle 2, Comeso 0, Roque 0.

QUARTER SCORES: 19-11, 37-21, 57-36, 72-61.

Latest News