Pinoy cue artists fall short in World 9-ball campaign

Pinoy cue artists fall short in World 9-ball campaign
Dennis Orcollo (second from left) fell short of booking a spot in the semifinals of the World 9-Ball Championship.

Filipino bets suffered a complete Final Four shut out in the WPA World 9-Ball Championship late Thursday at the Al Arabi Sports Club in Doha, Qatar.

Former world champion Dennis Orcollo’s campaign ended at the hands of American Shane Van Boening in a lopsided 1-11 loss in the quarterfinals.

The Singapore Southeast Asian Games men’s 9-ball gold medal winner Orcollo was the only Filipino -- out of the nine that got past the group stage -- who secured a slot in the Last 8.

Two Taiwanese cue artists are in the semifinals with Van Boening and Chinese bet Wu Jia Qing.

Van Boening will face Ko Pin Chung while Qing squares off with Ko Pin Yi on Friday.              

On his way to the quarterfinals, Orcollo hurdled local bet Mishel Turkey, 11-1, in the Last 64 before taking down American Hunter Lombardo, 11-7, in the Round of 32 and Darren Appleton of Britain, 11-2, in the Last 16.

Oliver Medenilla defeated Polish Karol Skowerski, 11-4, in the Last 64 before bowing down to Taiwanese Chang Yu, 4-11.

Warren Kiamco reached the Round of 16 booting out compatriot Raymund Faraon, 11-9, in the Last 64 and Venezuelan Yousef Jalal, 11-7 before crashing to a road block against Ko Pin Yi, 9-11.

Carlo Biado, Kiamco’s partner in winning the SEA Games doubles 9-ball gold medal last June, showed another Filipino Lee Van Corteza the exit door, 11-5, in the Last 64 but was halted in the Round of 32 by Ko Pin Yi, 4-11.

Jeffrey Ignacio entered the Round of 32, winning against Canadian Jason Klatt, 11-5, in the first phase of the knockout stage before getting stung by Singaporean Aloysius Yapp, 6-11.    

Johan Gonzales was eliminated by Japanese Yukio Akagirayama, 5-11, in the Last 64 as well as Gaga Gabica, 5-11, at the hands of Russian Ruslan Chinakov.

It has been half a decade since the Philippines had a world 9-ball champion in Django Bustamante, the third to pocket the title since pool legend Efren “Bata” Reyes (1999) and Ronato Alcano (2006).







Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News