Nietes, Donaire honored at 15th Elorde Boxing Awards

Milan Ordoņez on Mar 26, 2015 11:20 AM
Nietes, Donaire honored at 15th Elorde Boxing Awards
Photo credit: Arvin Lim/ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA - Pinoy Pride 30 co-headliners Donnie "Ahas" Nietes and Nonito "The Filipino Flash" Donaire were honored at the 2015 Elorde Awards on Tuesday at the Manila Hotel.

Both men were inducted into the Elorde Hall of Fame.

The 32-year old Nietes (34-1-4, with 20 victories by knockout) is heralded as the longest-reigning Filipino world champion, surpassing the record of the sport's godfather, the late great Gabriel "Flash" Elorde. Nietes has been the WBO lineal light flyweight champion for seven years and three months. He solidified his record in November 2014 at Pinoy Pride 28 by scoring a seventh round knockout against Mexico's Carlos "el Chapito" Velarde.

Nietes will be facing Mexico's Gilberto Parra on Saturday to defend his title.

After receiving the award, the soft-spoken Nietes was simply grateful for the honor given to him.

"Nagpapasalamat ako sa Panginoon na binigyan ako ng lakas sa larangan ng boxing," said the Negros Occidental native. "Salamat sa Elorde family sa pagbigay ng award sakin taon-taon. At salamat kay "Flash" Elorde sa pagbigay ng inspirasyon sa akin."

Donaire, meanwhile, is one of the sport's decorated champions in the lighter weight classes. A five-division world title-holder, "The Filipino Flash" is seeking redemption after a disappointing knockout loss against Nicholas Walters in October 2014. He will be going against Brazil's William Prado at the co-main event bout.

Like Nietes, Donaire was deeply thankful.

"To be part of the Philippines best fighters gives me great honor," said Donaire. "I'm really touched because I watched "Flash" Elorde. The moment I saw the way he was fighting, I was amazed. To be part of this gives me great pleasure."

Other awardees were the late Anthony Villanueva, who passed away last May. He was given a posthumous honor for his silver medal at the 1964 Tokyo Olympics. 2014 Asian games Silver Medalist Nestry Petecio was given the Best Female Amateur Boxer award, and her fellow Silver Medalist for the same tournament Charly Suarez was given the Best Male Amateur Boxer award.

Rey Loreto and Randy Petalcorin were given the Boxers of the Year honors.

Also honored was Former Japan & OPBF Flyweight Champion Hitoshi Hisako, the first Japanese national fighter to fight in the country after World War II.

Pinoy Pride 30: D-Day will take place on March 28, Saturday, 6 pm at the Araneta Coliseum and will be televised on March 29, Sunday, 9:45 am on ABS-CBN channel 2 and 9 pm on ABS-CBN Sports+Action channel 23.

Tickets are available at Ticketnet outlets.


Follow this writer on Twitter: @Mr_Ordonez

Latest News