Cristiano Ronaldo bags second straight FIFA Ballon dOr award

Santino Honasan on Jan 13, 2015 10:34 AM
Cristiano Ronaldo Bags Second Straight FIFA Ballon dOr Awar
(Photo Courtesy of Cristiano Ronaldo beats out Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer to claim the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'OR

Real Madrid/Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo capped off an already stellar 2014 campaign by claiming his second straight FIFA Ballon d’Or award, given last Monday in Zurich

The 29-year old Ronaldo, who first won Player of the Year honors in 2008,  earned 37.66% of the 2014 votes, beating out Barcelona/Argentina striker Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich/Germany keeper Manuel Neuer.

Ronaldo had a very impressive 2014, scoring 56 goals in 51 games to help lead Real Madrid to four titles in 2014 including the Copa del Rey, the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup, and the FIFA Club World Cup. For his home country of Portugal, Ronaldo suited up nine times while finding the back of the net five times, once during the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Ronaldo will once again look to have another banner year in 2015 as he leads Real Madrid in their title defense campaign in UEFA Champions League. The Round of 16 kicks off in February.                                                 

Ronaldo’s club teammate, Colombian winger James Rodriguez took home the FIFA Puskas Award given to the year’s most beautiful goal for his opening goal against Uruguay in the 2014 FIFA World Cup Round of 16.


The 2014 FIFA Team of the year was also announced, which included:

-          Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)

-          Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain)

-          David Luiz (Chelsea, Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil)

-          Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil)

-          Philipp Lamm (Bayern Munich/Germany)

-          Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain)

-          Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich, Real Madrid/Germany)

-          Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid , Manchester United/Argentina)

-          Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/Netherlands)

-          Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

-          Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)


Other 2014 FIFA Awardees include:

-          Nadine Kessler (VfL Wolfsburg/Germany) for the FIFA Women’s Player of the Year

-          Joachim Low (Germany) for the FIFA World Coach of the Year, Men’s

-          Ralf Kellerman (VfL Wolfsburg/Germany) for the FIFA World Coach of the Year, Women’s

-          Hiroshi Kagawa for the FIFA Presidential Award

-          2014 World Cup Volunteers for the FIFA Fair Play Award

Latest News